St Vincent and Grenadines Prime Minister Dr Ralph Gonsalves is not mincing his words about the recent meeting with five Caribbean Heads of Government with United States President Donald Trump.
Jamaican Prime Minister Andrew Holness, Bahamas Prime Minister, Dr Hubert Minnis, President of the Dominican Republic, Danilo Medina, President of Haiti, Jovenel Moise and Prime Minister of St Lucia, Allen Chastanet met with Trump on Friday to discuss Venezuela and energy.
Speaking with reporters at Government Headquarters Saturday evening after a LIAT stakeholders meeting, Gonsalves described the visit with the Caribbean delegation as “troubling”.
He pointed out that there was no true representation of CARICOM as the current chairman of CARICOM, Prime Minister of St Kitts and Nevis Dr Timothy Harris was not invited to the meeting. Neither were the members of the CARICOM advisory committee comprising of Barbados Prime Minister Mia Mottley, Trinidadian Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley or Gonsalves himself.
“None of those persons were invited and for it to be a true CARICOM representation you must at least have the chairman so that any discussion of Venezuela in that context . . . it cuts across the agreement mechanisms that we have put in place,” Gonsalves said.
CARICOM, Mexico and Uruguay have signed on to the Montevideo Mechanism , which promotes peace and dialogue amongst the political alignments in Venezuela. The CARICOM states have identified themselves as a Zone of Peace.
While referring to the actions of the US as “a creeping coup d’etat” against a legitimate government, Gonsalves said that CARICOM will not fall victim to the entrapping of others.
“We in CARICOM have to be very alive to the mischief that some persons may be up to , to seek to divide us in a manner which we ought not to be divided and therefore reduce the extent of our work,” he contended.
Broaching on the Venezuelan Petro Caribe preferential arrangement which has been ceased due to the sanctions imposed on Venezuela, Gonsalves contended that it would be “ridiculous” for the 17 Caribbean states to abide by an energy agreement by self-proclaimed president Juan Guaido.
“It is entirely ridiculous that you bring something to an end through sanctions and then the beneficiary politically, Mr Guiado is going to offer an energy agreement. We look stupid or something?”
“We are not supporting the principles of non-intervention and non-interference and no threats or force or sanctions. We are not holding a position on these things because we have a Petro agreement. We are doing so because of high principle and our commitment to international law,” he further added.
Gonsalves said a video conference will be held at Accra Beach Resort with the Canadian Government acting as an interlocutor for the Caribbean Governments to speak to Guaido and his representatives.
“I just want to keep CARICOM viable and I don’t have to try and make the CARICOM civilization great again we are an alive civilization of legitimacy. We have a history of achievement and we have a trajectory for ennoblement. We are not better than anybody and nobody is better than us and you must not try to divide us.” (KK)

“We in CARICOM have to be very alive to the mischief that some persons may be up to , to seek to divide us in a manner which we ought not to be divided and therefore reduce the extent of our work,” he contended.”
That is why Trump did it, because he knows u lot is divided and cannot sort out a pi$$ up in a brewery, not even a fishing agreement. The islands Trump met with is the ones who are rocky and unsure where they stand with Venezuela or they support Venezuela. If u lot were united he would have met with all of you. The white power structure of USA will slither in and crush u individually. Just remember u r collectively just $hi*hole countries.
If Gonsalves could with the use of political duplicity dubbed by him as the “coalition of the willing” be in bed with Cuba and Venezuela and other dubious dictatorships where freedom to congregate and of expression is closely monitored by the state
What moral right does he have to condemn others for meeting with the democratically elected like him or not leader of a free country where perhaps more citizens of the country he governs live than at home and where most people of the Caribbean have been able to emigrate and better themselves and send back remittances to the benefit of family and country
Away with you Comrade
Do any Vincentians emigrate Cuba, Venezuela or Libya
And finally are you not in the same boat as Mr Trump hated by your opponents and governing under a cloud of suspicious immoral activities
Should the other Caribbean leaders refuse to meet with you based on unproven allegations?
Think before you speak
What is more troubling is that this man sees nothing wrong with what Maduro is doing to those people in Venezuela. Its beyond inhumane!
Your involvement with Venezuela and Cuba are troubling too… Vincentians aren’t too happy about that Mr Prime Minister.
Division in the camp !!!
“6 against (Bolivia, Dominica, Nicaragua, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, and Venezuela)”
When Ralph voted in favour of Maduro against the people of Venezuela it was beyond troubling. Ralph and the others only saw ALBA and their personal benefits and forgot the dying people of Venezuela.
https://usoas.usmission.gov/permanent-council-approves-resolution-to-not-recognize-the-legitimacy-of-the-maduro-regime/
No one should be entertaining that psychopath, no one!
VERY Troubling!!! The Only PM in the Caribbean with testicular fortitude, before Rowley, Mia and Grainger took the helm.
They can’t join the Caribbean court of appeal but can jump to joint Trump to help divide the region. What a shame
Nobody cares anymore. Just take care of yourself and your family. Money can buy you Power. You can use power to earn money. SELLOUTS ABOUNDS!!
To say the least.
Ask not what you can do for your regional alliance, ask what can the great US of A do for me and my country.
The Russians and the British have both stated their intentions to renew their interests in the Caribbean.The hand picking of those Caribbean leaders to sit down with POTUS, is a clear indication that the US is prepared to renew its interest in the regions as well ,starting with those who appear to be easy pushovers,and who may believe that the US has done them favours. Yes Sir,No sir, three envelopes full ,sir.
They have a right as leaders of sovereign nations to meet with whomever they choose the same way you do Ralph.
You have often broken ranks with your fellow leaders to engage states we in this region have difficulty engaging under their current political practices (human rights violations). So who are you to talk about breaking ranks?
Comrad be careful when Trump finish with Mexico he don’t build a wall around St Vincent.
I really can’t see how anyone can sit back and watch what Maduro is doing to his own people and not see it as wrong. I mean you have Venezuelans who can’t not afford to buy a litre of bottle water anymore because it is now 6 times the price it was in January. The aid that was sent in by container loads was ordered destroyed by him and in those containers were cases upon cases of bottled water! You tell me a man like him don’t want removing from his throne?
It also bothers me that Caribbean governments can speak of leaving Venezuela to settle it’s problems when you have a dictator with a heavily armed army on one side and simple Venezuelan people on the other armed with placards and stones! So based on that imbalance and the blatant disregard for human rights how do you think that will turn out?
MR GONSALVES, you are not one of my favarite ppl, since the incident with the lady from your country and your son, but i must say, i agree with you, the USA is a wicked place, and cause and put countries against other, as many others you agree that the USA was wrong, to go in to venezuela, the USA want the oil there, so it need a prime minister who will play ball, you got balls to stand up and speak out, not like some of these other caribbean prime ministers,
There goes the myth of CARIBBEAN UNITY.
Those heads of Govt. who were invited by Trump, should have turned down Trump flat on realising that he was cheery picking Caribbean leaders.
One for all, all for one.
But this Caribbean unity thing is a bare joke.
line 3 should read:
realising that he was cherry picking Caribbean leaders.
The USA using the plot of divide and rule, not even MIA was called, The USA seek out the weakest link,and drag them to a meeting, the USA is at VENEZUELA because of the oil, and the USA know the CARIBBEAN is the worlds biggest importers of oil and dont want the CARIBBEAN to get it from VENEZUELA, or MEXICO, , CARIBBEAN got to unite and be strong,
The only problem I see is where is the other Caribbean country you must remember every Caribbean country have their own prime minister who represents their own country
Prime Minister Dr Ralph Gonsalves: “There was no true representation of CARICOM as the current chairman of CARICOM, Prime Minister of St Kitts and Nevis Dr Timothy Harris was not invited to the meeting”
Ossie Moore : I agree , that was a slap in the face to the other Caribbean leaders , especially not inviting Barbados to the party.
And as usual the true majority bajan mentality, instead of attacking Donald Trump for slapping Barbados and the others in the face they are attacking Gonsalves for speaking the truth.
JENNIFER says :
(1) That is why Trump did it, because he knows u lot is divided and cannot sort out a pi$$ up in a brewery, not even a fishing agreement.
Ossie Moore : That’s exactly what the Donald is doing, He’s starting now to dismantle the unity among the Caribbean islands and if there is no unity the is smart enough now to be trying to push the Islanders farther apart.
Which means that today it is Venezuela and tomorrow it is your respective island.
BELFAST : “The Russians and the British have both stated their intentions to renew their interests in the Caribbean.The hand picking of those Caribbean leaders to sit down with POTUS, is a clear indication that the US is prepared to renew its interest in the regions as well ,starting with those who appear to be easy pushovers,”
Ossie Moore : True dat !!!
CARSON C. CADOGAN : “There goes the myth of CARIBBEAN UNITY.
Those heads of Govt. who were invited by Trump, should have turned down Trump flat on realising that he was cheery picking Caribbean leaders.
One for all, all for one.
But this Caribbean unity thing is a bare joke ”
Ossie Moore : I said the very same thing CC . ..the Donald has something very DFiorty up his sleeve.
JOHN : “Comrad be careful when Trump finish with Mexico he don’t build a wall around St Vincent.”
Ossie Moore : Becareful what you wish for JOHN you might get it. Remember that the US issued a travel advisory against Barbados, Donald might also issue orders to build a wall around Barbados.
JOHN : “The aid that was sent in by container loads was ordered destroyed by him and in those containers were cases upon cases of bottled water! “.
Ossie Moore : Actually John , A New YorK Times report heavily contradicts the claim that the containers were destroyed by the Maduro Military Forces.
Click on the link below to read the entire N Y Times report.
https://www.nytimes.com/2019/03/10/world/americas/venezuela-aid-fire-video.html
OSSIE MOORE I agree with you, no reason to attack GONSALVES, bajans are the worst ppl in the caribbean, they are really indeed they own enemy, so short sighted and blind sided, CARSON CADOGAN i too agree that the others should have turn down the invitement by the USA,
I am just listening to my favorite Rapper SCARFACE: MONEY AND THE POWER! MONEY AND THE POWER!
I posted a comment over an hour ago and it’s still not been published. Is this an example of BT suppressing freedom of speech?
ROGER PARISH says :
” OSSIE MOORE I agree with you, no reason to attack GONSALVES, bajans are the worst ppl in the caribbean, they are really indeed they own enemy, so short sighted and blind sided, CARSON CADOGAN i too agree that the others should have turn down the invitement by the USA,”
Ossie Moore : Agreed RP , bajans have got me totally confused as to why they are attacking Gonsalves for pointing out a major ” cold shoulder ” brush off against Barbados and the other islands by the trump administration.
How can trump invite Jamaica and the Bahamas and others but not Barbados. Trinidad and Guyana.
And Carson Cadogan is right on the money also , the others should have said ” if you don’t invite them I am not coming ”
I really hope that instead of a** kissing trump they had the “cojones” to ask him ” why did you invite us and not the others ” ?
divide and rule. be careful Barbados.
There is no divide and rule here we had a certain person who now holds a post making it clear to the President of the USA that he was not welcomed in the region if the former President of the USA had taken the same stance on Venezuela I doubt that there would all of this furore if it is one thing I do know the current USA president does what he says and says what he means and he gets results. I am certain that if the said delegation had met with Putin comrade Ralph would have seen absolutely nothing wrong, regardless of what all of these leaders say ask them where their children study, live or have citizenship for, I cannot support anyone who is of the opinion that Maduro should be allowed to remain in office to continue to oppress the people of Venezuela and if these leaders are not careful I am sure that there will be some sort of backlash that will be more detrimental than beneficial.
By the way, Roger Parish what oil does the USA need out of Venezuela I see that you are not aware of what has been going on in the news lately, do some research and see what has taken place in the USA recently as it relates to their own discoveries of oil and which country now has the most oil, and see if they need Venezuela’s oil.
Uncle Ralph, this is why we people describe politicians as political whores. I admire those who stand on principles amidst all odds. In the Caribbean, the leading politicians are like weather cocks, and investment monies to help fulfill many empty promises, can and will challenge one’s integrity. Among politicians, every skin teeth is not a laugh. This is why Caricom has not developed any faster than was expected. Every man for himself, despite the Heads of Government’s meetings.
Sherlock you are right on the money there. I didn’t bother to reply to others as their bias against the USA and Trump are so obvious it is a waste of time trying to discuss an issue without bias. As for the USA needing Venezuela’s oil that is now not the case. Not only have the USA’ s recent finds increased their reserves, but in places like California they are way ahead of us on solar energy. Their push into alternative energy has also been supported by the Trump administration. Do you think the fact that Trump placed the embargo on China was not to protect his own solar industry and alternative energy market too?
It is time we realise that we must put our Bias against a country one side when we are procrastinating on what we have little direct knowledge of. I have friends in Caracas and when I hear from them what life is like I can only cringe! I would like some of you who support Maduro to leave here and go in a supermarket or pharmacy in Venezuela today and see what’s on the shelves and what the prices are like now compared to December. Get some facts before you opposed the USA IN support of a military dictator.
SHERLOCK HOLMES.:
“I would like some of you who support Maduro to leave here and go in a supermarket or pharmacy in Venezuela today and see what’s on the shelves and what the prices are like now compared to December. Get some facts before you opposed the USA IN support of a military dictator.”
Ossie Moore : No sh*t SHERLOCK, you are not on the money. The issue here is about ” the cold shoulder ” that was given to the rest of the Caribbean leaders.
You clearly miss the point. You are more concerned of who is invited to a meeting than what situation the country under discussion and by extension it’s people are in. Let me ask you one question? What support can those invited or excluded offer to the people of Venezuela other than lip service? Truly laughable what some minds can focus on.
Let me try to put it in the most simplistic form possible. Comrad Gonsalves is upset that he and others who support doing nothing but watching on were not invited. He also would not support a call by the USA FOR action simply based on his political views. Now had that call come from Castro or Putin or others of that clique, his support would of been overwhelming. He is depending on people to get caught up in the petty issues of who was invited instead of focusing on the bigger picture. Thus true to form so many of us are doing exactly that! Once again we fall for our divided thinking of “my PM wasn’t invited” so those that there can’t represent caricom. You got to admire a politician that know how to play one group against the other for his own purpose. Sweet fuh days that approach is…
Here is the problem with Caricom.
1) There are some countries/islands which never should be included but thanks to Errol Barrow, Frobes Burnhan and Eric Williams ,the Bahamas, Haiti,Suriname are members.
2)The greatest mistake that was made in the 1962 was the breakup of the West Indies federation and each island going for so called independence, independence yes but within the context of the west indies federation , that is why there will always be individual islands/countries doing their own thing .
3)If there was a federal government this would not happen because Trump and others would have to deal with one government not 17.A precedent has been set and other foreign leaders will follow suit.
4)What we need is a federation of the willing excluding the Bahamas, Haiti and suriname
HASKELL MURRAY:
. . . . the problem with Caricom.
Ossie Moore : Now you are right on the money HASKELL
Remember the ” Little 8 “
John most of the commentators here have no idea of what is going on in the wider world plain and simple I applaud the fact that you are woke.
Sherlock it is frustrating though that some speak without knowing the facts. I don’t blame comrad Gonsalves for playing the divide and win game for he is a skilled politician and no one can take that from him. It just surprised me how some focus on the distraction of seperation rather than the country at the source of the discussion.
Then again we returned a government to power based somewhat on a tv ad about a pensioner having to pay bus fare so I guess distraction works!
There is too much of the “my boat” mentality prevailing among the Caribbean nations ,designed to put the kibosh on any future thoughts of another Caribbean Federation. LIAT ,CSME ,OECS,and CCJ and the elusive fishing agreement say it all.
John, I saw a news article today of what the Muslims are doing in certain sections of England concerning Sharia law it is nothing short of terrifying and that is a clear result of unchecked migration, the globalist agenda of open borders is wreaking havoc in countries and I will continue to of the view that open borders coupled with unchecked migration are recipes for disaster.