Barbados is moving to cash in on the growing medical marijuana industry by teaming up with a number of firms in Canada with “great interest” in setting up here, the Prime Minister has revealed.
She said she has held meetings with individuals and company officials in Toronto and Montreal where the issue of medical marijuana was topic one, following the administration’s moves to legalise marijuana for medical use. Canada has fully decriminalised cannabis use, leading to a mushrooming of pharmaceutical industries tied to the herb.
Mottley was giving an update on her nine-day of overseas meetings where she met with a range of officials on a number of issues ranging from the environment to financial matters.
The meetings, which also saw the Prime Minister and her team going to Miami and Washington DC, was mainly to promote new product offerings in Barbados in relation to its tax rate and promote the country to investors.
She told journalists at Government Headquarters that there was “great, great interest” in the establishment of a medical marijuana industry in Barbados.
Attorney General Dale Marshall and the Minister of Agriculture Indar Weir are currently reviewing a regulatory framework, the Prime Minister told reporters.
She said: “Many of the companies, coming out of Canada, need an opportunity to be able to ensure that if they domicile in Barbados, [they can operate] their business enterprise for the rest of the world without any difficulties.”
She said medical marijuana in Barbados was “one that is likely to garner significant business”. But the prime minister cautioned that changes would have to be made to various pieces of legislation to allow for the establishment of that industry here.
Mottley said:“Even to ensure that Barbadian farm workers are not prejudiced in any way,
. . . we need to make sure that our workers are not exposed in anyway on the farm workers programme with respect to the wages which they receive as well. So there are issues that we have to work through and hence the face-to-face meetings in Toronto.”
It was late last year that the Prime Minister announced that her administration would be putting a framework in place for medical cannabis, while a referendum would be required for the recreational use.
Mottley explained that the Canadian companies lining up to take advantage of the medical cannabis industry here were due to a combination of things including that fact that some of them wanted to domicile in Barbados for that reason.
“Secondly, some of them want to participate with Barbadians in Barbados to be able to be part of the medical cannabis sector and we made it very clear that yes, we welcome people, but we are also going to ensure that we create opportunities for Barbadians to invest in this new sector as well,” she said.
She insisted that the development of the cannabis industry locally should be based on research and development and continuous training of participants, while avoiding past mistakes with other industries.
The Prime Minister told the media: “Separate from research and development, we need to see ourselves as a domicile for persons engaged in this activity because of the global commerce and it ties into what many Canadian enterprises want to do in terms of structuring out of their businesses to engage the rest of the world. This is a natural extension of what we have been doing in the international business sector.
“Thirdly, we don’t want to ever make the same mistake that was made with other agriculture products, particularly sugar in the past. That you treat to it as a bulk commodity, that if we are going to have a medical cannabis industry it needs to be a vertically integrated industry as well. Therefore, we are being very strategic about how we relate to this sector,” she promised.
Read our ePaper. Fast. Factual. Free.
Great move
Tell yuh
Lets wait and see , hope everyone is prepared of what will come………..
Aunty Mia,please tell them what to carry and where to carry it…let the profits remain in Barbados if that’s the road the government decide to take.
will this project be for the rich only or to the general public, so everyone interested, will get some sort of benifit, if not, serious problem ahead with our average people, who will fell decieve, many has descriminate against it, lock up our people, change them excessive amount to law courts and still continue to interigate people, what are we really doing, follow canada, thats what to do, but my people have to benifit.
Need to build a bigger mental health institution ☺to
Are we that desperate?
Easily conditioned = the path to ruin.
Now wunna know who really cares
What about Barbadian companies, why is it that foregn companies always have to come and drain the economy, by getting a lot of tax benefits and then sends all the profits out of the country?
So y’all would permit this when y’all can do this venture at home?
The investment required for the establishment of labs and companies to grow medical marijuana is too much for even the local drug lords. This is a pie in the sky dream. Bare optics that may take years to materialize. Just look at what is happening in Jamaica and tell me if Barbados will be any different. The Jamaicans are complaining that they are not seeing the benefits. Next ting MAM will be issuing licenses for recreational marijuana and people will be walking bout the place high. This is a Gov that will destroy this country morally and politically.
Why not keep it for Bajans? Why would we again allow our lands to be used to enrich others while we lock up our own for $5 worth of the same substance?
Who do you all really think will actually gain from medical marijuana being grown in Barbados? Open your eyes!!! There is no one so blind that cannot see.
@ Saga Boy, people from all strata of society already walk about high. Matter of fact they walk about drunk as well.
At last a revival for the long abandoned St Joseph Hospital.
Legalising “Medical” + Recreational Marijuana = More people in the Mental Hospitals, so the Island will need more rooms.
This is absolute nonsense…. So now we need Canadians to grow weed in Barbados…. Sorry… Madame PM for me this shows for all your eloquent speeches you’re just as mentally enslaved as the next person… To even think about this… WoW.
Oh really
F all that with other countries. Pay people their retirement pay. Always doing business with others and our own people going broke, worrying about how their bills will get pay, loosing their homes. HELP BARBADOS FIRST….
I guess I might be a novice to this whole marijuana issue but can someone please enlighten me as to what are the real benefits of this so-called medical marijuana? I know that of recent there have been some recent discoveries in the USA concerning the overuse of marijuana and its detrimental effects that are alarming and I know the sceptics will rear their heads but it can be researched for the benefit of the curious. However back to my concerns will there be an increase in crime when this comes on board? I mean I am of the opinion that those who can afford to undertake such a venture will be those with the sound financial backing whilst the have nots might want to cash in nefariously, we are aware that you cannot even plant a crop of cassava without the thieves reaping at their leisure so what about a more lucrative crop in the minds of those so inclined? I really do hope that those with the power know exactly what they are doing, people are lining up to invest? I do sincerely hope that they are not lining up on the path to perdition.
Are you serious now?. And they’re locking up the locals
Medical marijuana has to be grown in greenhouses under strict conditions, biologists and chemist have to be involved not the boys on th block .it is medicine that is being created and has to comply with international standards. We do not have the expertise or capital here or the licenses to provide medical marijuana.As usual Bajans are talking uninformed nonsense. Canada leads the world in this field. Long term this will create permanent well paying jobs, pay NIS, Taxes, VAT. Earn Foreign Exchange. The Boys on the block and Drug Lords will have to wait for approval for personal use like Jamaica and that will not even hurt their business as the other Islands grow a better strain of the weed
Finally something I can agree with this BLP Administration on. Barbados cannot be hoodwinked anymore by developed countries, when it comes to us benefiting from the medical marijuana industry. We have much to gain from being up there with the major players such as Canada. Their regulations can be analysed, and other social spinoff effects can be studied.
Tunnels with 24hrs security booths already set up in one parish awaiting …Marijuana will still be illegal until the dollars start rolling in…Lol!
All wanna ganja uses.. March and protest against the Canadian companies operating these ganja factories.
Well done to all you people who have recognized the continued usury and financial abu$e on this people.
But let Jerry tell you all some stark, depressing reality. It is all about those INTERNATIONAL STANDARDS/REGULATIONS etc – those who invented that white coat protocol.
This is how the cookie was set up long ago and this is how it must crumble – but only for a little while longer.
@Catherine Thomas – y do u say that??
Like everything else there must be FULL control by the same people before the crumbs begin to fall from the table. Remember there would not have been a need for a hospital if the people had not been made sick.
If the Canadian companies already have the infrastructure and the funds to hit the road running we can see a win win situation. I am seeing employment for many, foreign exchange, and work for many entities this business will attract. Barbados business community is very pessimistic about when it comes to investing. They don’t like to take risk. It would take another 100 years before any bajan business other than the big five hit the road running with such. I support this venture if it going to provide more employment and an opening for our local small businesses to have a shot at it. But we have to make changes to our laws and some taxes from this industry goes to rehabilitation for those who abused this product bearing in mind that it won’t be legalized for recreational purposes in the short term but with the notion that it is being exported from here those who already using it will use and distribute it even more unless the law provide for some level of recreational use
Olga, Canadian stock market on medical weed
It was just a matter of time exploding industry,
more trouble and increased danger for the overworked under paid men and women of the RBPF disappointed this is the only ‘investment opportunity’ from long highly publicized overseas tour with big entourage
This BLP government is like a f- -king cesspool straight up dirty,before they let Bajan companies deal with this kind of industry they gine bring in a bunch of foreigners who don’t give one s- -t about Barbados to make a s- -t load of money.Question when Canada legalize marijuana production were any outside countries allowed to come in and run the show the answer is hell no.De more things change de more they stay de same.So let me guess Barbados taxpayers gine subsidize these Canadian companies with nice multi year concessions along with sweet generous tax exemptions they will pay peanuts to workers and take all the profits back up north to Canada.Seeing how things work with slimy shady politicians in Barbados were any contracts sign already while PM was in Canada selling out.
Say yeah to Peter Tosh & John Holt.
Why would Canada with its 3.855 million square miles of land and water , and the latest technology to grow crops indoors, want to come to a little 166 square mile island to get involved in the growing of marijuana?
But then again the great United States of America with its 3.80 million square miles chose the tiny Bikini atoll of 2.3 square miles to conduct its nuclear testing. And as they say,the rest is history.
MOST of you getting CONFUSED with MEDICAL marijuana and ORDINARY marijuana smoking.
We need a better understanding. Are Canadian entities going to open ganja farms here or are they just going to do the invoicing and accounting here so that they will escape paying Canadian taxes?
Mia scares!!!!
https://scontent.fbgi2-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/54514656_2921912837848683_7955842194697355264_n.jpg?_nc_cat=104&_nc_ht=scontent.fbgi2-1.fna&oh=426c342cc8da90480556ea7c45078ade&oe=5D746E99
BLACK BARBADIANS ARE ALWAYS TO BE POOR IN BARBADOS.
The BLACK BARBADIAN POLITICIANS in Barbados go all out to make sure that only WHITE PEOPLE AND INDIANS in Barbados prosper.
WHITE CANADIANS and WHITE BAJANS AND INDIANS are to be given the rights to grow marijuana in Barbados AND GET RICH, RICH, RICH!!!!
BLACK BARBADIANS are not to be given a piece of the action in the marijuana trade. The only thing for BLACK BARBADIANS with regards to marijuana is to be lock up in Dodds prison which was built for Black people alone.
BLACK BARBADIANS just cant catch a break in Barbados. And the BLACK BARBADIAN POLITICIANS make absolutely certain that it remains that way.
@CCC- So tell me Carson how exactly r u hoping that black Barbadians will get rich, rich, rich from this living in a WHITE WORLD WIDE POWER STRUCTURE? They did not share the alcohol, tobacco, vehicle manufacturing, Aeronautics or any other industry with this people apart from being the consumers. So why would they do it now. Mind you we got some so called scientist, physicist running around here idle and as per usual just regurgitating.
@CCC – Black people (WORLDWIDE) as a whole do not have an independent platform to launch anything. This is y this people is as unstable as water just floating on others platforms whether it be that of the Chinese, Caucasion, Arab, Syrian etc. Until you find out who u r CCC u will continue to make these blind statements. And I know that u r correct but u need to understand the y factor.
Jesus is Lord
Mia bringing Big business to cash in on the growing medical marijuana industry
While the Poor Black people gine to Dodds for a five bag, but Big Business will make MILLIONS
What happen to the case with the Big, Big,Big Business man who came in on the Yacht with all that marijuana
@Rawle Spooner – U sound somewhat confuse.
Can someone who is talking about Mia bringing in the big companies etc tell me how BLACK so called bajan companies would go about pitching something like this??? if there is even any black bajan pharmaceutical companies.
@JENNIFER: “@Rawle Spooner – U sound somewhat confuse.” – How so? I think I see the point. I do not see any real benefits to Barbados based on the article.
Canadian ganja growers/exporters at pennies per kilo like the North Americans wanted to offer the farmers in St. Vincent recently.
The cheap labour from Haiti already lined up as part of the business deal to make it more attractive. Mia ‘really scares’.
By November 30, 2019 we will have much to protest about, and much less to celebrate as a sovereign nation. Next we will have Canadian companies coming to invest in alternative lifestyle manufacturing for export too.
This government simply have to go, we cannot have them around until 2023, it will be total disaster by then. Do we need any more obvious signs?
@Greengiant
You mean that we will be shaping all sizes of dildos here on this beautiful island for export???
I could see the bajan investors lining up now. One name that could be patented is Hardwood. Mascoll could claim that brand.
@RIC – Let me show u where the confusion comes in. First can u name me some “bajan” companies?
The same WHITE people that Control the SUGAR PLANTATIONS will run/own the WEED FIELDS for Medical use.
The POOR BLACK MAN will still be growing the little weed stock in the back yard to SMOKE & sell which will still be illegal and leads to DODDS.
Jennifer, I just figured he was speaking to the future, no need to rush this.
To the tune of 80 Billion invested.
@Alex Alleyne – OK.
Listen people Mia is by no means stupid at all. After all she has 3 eyes like some do. She knows that there is only ONE hand she can play. At this point just let us continue to work.
“” WHITE people that Control the SUGAR PLANTATIONS””
The White people dont control the plantations, these plantations are heavily indebted to to the Govt. of Barbados .
But unlike BLACK BARBADIANS who when heavily indebted to any institution or Govt., they are not being removed by the BLACK BARBADIAN POLITICIANS forming the Govt. and their things put alongside the road. Because they are WHITE.
Those plantations belong to the people of Barbados.
This MIA AMOR MOTTLEY BARBADOS LABOUR PARTY GOVT. since coming to power as they like to call it have put out of NHC housing areas numerous BLACK BARBADIANS for not paying rent. But the WHITE BAJANS who millions in unpaid debts for these plantations are left alone with no action being taken against them.
I meant to ask this question for quite sometime now to those of you who always talk about the ‘black, white, Indian’ race game in Barbados.
If our foreign investors were of African origin would you all feel more comfortable that Barbadians were any less disenfranchised?
Our administrations for decades, and even now even creates legislation to bring African descendants and their offspring into Barbados in an effort to force Barbadians to work below our ‘spirited minimum wage’. The Haitians are next in line to provide labour for the medical marijuana investors. Such cheap labour will make the returns attractive.
The perceived notion that Barbadian workers are lazy, is simply that, a perceived notion. Barbadian workers are prepared to work their butts off once adequately compensated.
@GG – Now here u go aligning this majority people with the African. Would a people sell their own people or would they sell a people who they perceived was NOT of their people and was a threat to their existence? Get your facts and history straight green giant.
THE HAITIANS ARE DEFINITELY PART OF OUR PEOPLE WHO ARE SCATTERED OUT LIKE GRAIN on the face of the earth. Many r just wicked and do not want to see this fact. This is y they are in the same current economic affairs as us. And your last sentence GG is spot on. The only people in Barbados who actually work is black people.
“FROM ENSLAVEMRNT TO MASS INCARCERATION”.
there’s money in the weed oops did i say that ? Canada was talking to M&M and she said show muh the money .they did and she said i’m in. Canada already set up shop in St Vincent .and i think Jamaica is dealing with Canada also .if BIM want’s to fly in this direction they would need the help