Home » Posts » Noted musician bid farewell in a fitting tribute

Noted musician bid farewell in a fitting tribute

by Anesta Henry
8 min read

Family, friends and fans today gave William Smokey Burke a send-off funeral service that resembled a sold-out concert in the huge hall of New Dimension Church in Barbarees Hill, St Michael.

From a beautiful rendition of Burke’s original song Mental Slavery sung by a group of renowned local entertainers, to a piece of Commodores’ Night Shift performed by Chief Justice Sir Marston Gibson, the entertaining and upbeat service regaled those in the standing room only facility.

Harrison College students and scores from the entertainment fraternity also gathered for the farewell service, which was filled with laughter.

Burke died on February 26 after a prolonged battle with cancer.

The tributes saluted the Barbadian entertainment icon as a calypsonian, writer and a musician.

Burke’s cousin, Dr Sharon Marshall, spoke about the deceased’s love for family, his good command of the English language, and his talent as a musician. Burke also appreciated food, she said and the fare included Rosita’s barbequed pigtails, Haagen Daz ice cream, and Beverley’s sweet bread.

The versatile musician was a member of local bands Cardinals and Twilighters and toured internationally with the legendary Drifters in the 1980’s.

Dr Marshall shared fond memories several of Burke’s immediate family members shared with her, including his daughters whom she said summed him up to be a caring, loving dad who was proud of all their achievements.

The respected calypsonian also shared a strong bond with his sister, acting General Secretary of the National Union of Public Workers’ (NUPW) Delcia Burke, whom he credited for being his rock when he was ill.

Acting General Secretary of the National Union of Public Workers Delcia Burke saying farewell to her beloved brother William Smokey Burke.

Smokey may have been a performer but he took an active interest in promoting the artform to younger audiences and in protecting the rights of musicians. He was a music teacher in the primary schools of Barbados through an arrangement with the National Cultural Foundation (NCF).

“He was a longstanding member of the Board of COSCAP [Copyright Society of Composers Authors and Publishers] and the Musicians and Entertainers Guild of Barbados. He championed the idea of an all-Barbadian music station and was confident about its potential for commercial success. This is an idea, which he took to the Board of Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation when he was a member of the board. It didn’t bear fruit,” Dr Marshall said.

“On the 29th of July 2007 he was following the music to the Soca Royale at the East Coast Road when he was an eye witness to one of the deadliest bus crashes in Barbados’ history. Smokey was one of the first persons on the scene at Joe’s River in St Joseph and he sprang into action to pull some of the survivors from the wreckage. The images would haunt him for a long time,” she added.

Dr Marshall also recalled her cousin’s passion for the St James-based Learning Centre and organised a concert annually to raise funds for the school. And though last year he was too ill to leave home, he organised the concert from his bed.

In fact, Dr Marshall told the hundreds gathered, that Burke took hold of life and drained every last bit of it, even as his body betrayed him. She said with help from his friends, Burke was able to go to the beach occasionally and his physical condition did not prevent him from attending Buju Banton show, liming at the CBC zone or performing at Golden Soca last year.

She expressed thanks to everyone who supported Burke during his illness.

Minister of Creative Economies, Culture and Sports John King, a fellow calypsonian, praised Burke’s contribution to the local entertainment sector over the years. He noted that far too often society finds itself celebrating the invaluable contributions of its membership after they transition from this physical space.

Minister of Creative Economy Culture and Sports John King

King said this lack of appreciation speaks volumes about the psychological damage done to us through periods of slavery and colonialism.

“What use are pretty speeches laced with fond memories and the occasional burst of grief after someone is gone? This is not a question for any particular persons, group or institution. It is also not intended to cast any blame or shame.

“It is intended to get us as a people to begin to examine ourselves in an effort to confront and fix those characteristics that do not serve our best interest. It is from this point of view that I challenge myself and all of you gathered here to express your appreciation and love for each other as much as you can while you have the opportunity to do so,” King said.

The Minister told Burke’s loved ones that his fun-loving spirit, hearty laugh and huge appetite will be with them always.

Chief Justice Sir Marston Gibson said though both he and Burke came from Brittons Hill, their first real interaction was 1971 when Burke asked him to join the Twighlighters as a base player. Sir Marston said though he had to turn down the request at that time, he joined the band four years later and noted that they shared an amazing experience practicing and playing.

“One of the things I admired about him was he was a man of his convictions. He had courage. I always liked to play music but when I had the option of deciding whether to play music or play law I decided to take the safer option.

“The Harrison College boys who said ‘you know what, I want to be an entertainer’, I uplift them as I uplift Smokey. I will miss him terribly because every time I met with him, even in his suffering, he had a joke,” Sir Marston said.

After delivering an upbeat tribute speaking about the friendship he had with Burke, calypsonian Colin Spencer recalled that they sang in four calypso tents together.

Spencer said since Burke always invited him out to have a good time, their friendship was one of liming at bars, shops, restaurants and cricket. They even attended the funeral of noted Barbadians together, even when Burke was ill.

“Now you all know what happened leading up to the Pic-O-De-Crop finals of 2018 and you must remember that I was the reserve. But I had to ask myself why me? But we know in life we never get answers to these questions.

“I want to make it known that Smokey was responsible for introducing Troy Special, Natalie Burke, and Peter Ram to the tent culture and to Bajan calypso fans in 1997 in House of Soca. I also want to make it known that Smokey would have sung at more charity events than anyone else in Barbados in the past 20 years. I probably run a close second,” Spencer said before delivering a powerful rendition of The Old Rugged Cross.

Dr The Most Honourable Anthony Gabby Carter read a poem he wrote detailing Burke’s life, particularly his journey in the music industry.

Distinguished Calypsonians Sir Anthony Gabby Carter (left) and Stetson Red Plastic Bag Wiltshire leading the pallbearers carrying William Smokey Burke’s casket out of the church.

The piece, which was written on November 19, 2017, also made the point that Burke’s work, though fantastic, may not have received worthy recognition.

“Sometimes the judges were not kind to him. It never phased or made him dim. Let us be honest, class is class, Smokey’s writing is hard to surpass. . .The year he was miles ahead he got ill, that’s when we saw the real fighter in Bill.

“He never give up once, nor did he complain, he was ‘man I okay’ through all the hurt and pain. And so this morning with tears in many an eye, we say farewell, adios, good-bye. For me personally this is very sad, rest well my buddy Smokey for you will always be one of the greatest artistes Barbados ever had,” Gabby said.

Reverend Erma Ambrose who delivered the sermon urged those mourning to look to God for comfort as they grieve, and to also reflect on the way they live their lives.
anestahenry@barbadostoday.bb