Home » Posts » Ashari rising . . . Young, upcoming singer has big dreams

Ashari rising . . . Young, upcoming singer has big dreams

5 min read

Her raspy yet powerful voice commands attention and with a singular focus Asha Ashari Beckles is determined to make her presence felt on the music scene. So far, the vocalist has some solid tracks under her belt. She showcases how easily she can ride a rhythm as she chants on Whine and Bubble and is absolutely smooth in Pressure, her collaboration with Mole.

Against all odds, she is determined to take her music to the world stage. “There is no limit to this journey. My goal is to have my music heard and acknowledged worldwide,” said the performer who lists being a songwriter among her varied skills.

In the lyrics of her gritty Queen of the South she said: “One thing that me know, one day we ah go mek it!” Despite all the challenges she has faced, her resilient spirit is what keeps propelling her forward.

No matter what twists and turns her life has taken, music has always provided that stabilizing force that was needed. Her passion for music is undeniable. For her, it’s her lifeline, providing her with a rainbow at the end of any storm. Introspectively, she told Bajan Vibes: “I would say that music chose me. I always say to people that music is my therapy.”

Ashari started performing professionally in 2015. “I have been singing in competition and at functions from seven years old. I was also a part of the youth chorale at church. According to my mother, from the time I could form words, I would make up songs about whatever I saw, whether it be a rock, tree, whatever.”

There is more to Ashari than meets the eye. The devoted mother to a 21-month-old son said with a smile: “I have many layers like an onion.”

Refusing to be pigeonholed, she has not restricted herself to any one genre. “I sing all kinds of music from inspirational, social/conscious to risque. I would say it’s unique because of the way I sing or the fact that I fuse plenty styles, creating my own vibe that caresses the beat given.”

Ashari has excelled scholastically and at the age of 28, the Harrison College alum holds the enviable position as a Marine Engineer at the Barbados Port Authority Inc.

But, no matter what is going on in her life, she always comes full circle back to music. “I noticed nothing excites me or inspires me more than percussion and melodies beating on my ear drums. I love being able to lose myself in the music which I consider to be the true expression of who I am.”

Ashari has an eclectic style of her own and so too does the range of artistes who inspire her.  “I admire many artistes and their talents, too many to list all. But in the soul genre, I love Whitney Houston, Fantasia, Celine Dion simply because their voices, rifts, and vocal skills are just legendary.

“In the gospel genre, I love Donnie McClurkin, Yolanda Adams and Kirk Franklin’s Choir because they have a way of speaking to your heart. In the reggae genre, I love Beres, Bushman, Romain Virgo, Etana, Ikaya because they always just caress the riddims they sing on. Dancehall, Vybz Kartel, Lady Saw, Tanya Stephens, Aidonia, Jah Vinci.” With a laugh, she said: “If you want to hear pure skill, listen to them.”

Throughout her career she has embraced multiple performance opportunities and the self-professed introvert transforms on stage.

“I performed at plenty of functions – weddings, luncheons and concerts. I took part in the Richard Stoute Teen Talent competition in 2011, Who’s Next on Trident 10, Beer Fest, and party cruises, among others,” she said.

Currently, she is focused on establishing her brand. “My plan is to work and promote myself as much as possible until I achieve the set goal.”

Ashari readily admits that one of the stumbling blocks that she and many other local artistes face is getting the airplay. “Like most Bajan artistes, we face the challenge of not being taken seriously by many local DJs… but I must say, I give props to DJs Rico Love, Timeless, Tank and Jon Doe who, without question, supported me from day one of hearing any of my tracks.”

Ashari views her music as an investment in herself. “Music is not a cheap venture. So oftentimes, embarking on this journey solo without investors or the genuine support, it is quite difficult. But once the passion is there, we as musicians never stop even if we ‘broke like dawgs’,” she quipped.

Undaunted, she stated: “I would not say I have overcome the challenges, but I have adapted my mindset that with every setback, I promise myself to go harder. No stopping!” (STT)