To that we say amen!

Tom Adams quickly called on him,

This man Owen,

This rock

To run for

The St. Peter seat

Against popular teacher

Sybil Leacock.

The race was as close as close could be.

A recount did take place.

By the narrowest of victories

He won the St. Peter race.

He grew quickly

In the party.

And when Tom passed away,

He became the leader.

What else can I say?

He inherited a country

Crippled economically.

He,

(This economic guru)

Saved this place fuh we.

He won three straight elections.

But politics is strange.

Despite his marvelous efforts,

The people voted for change.

He left the treasury in the black

When he said goodbye.

Unemployment down

All over this town,

The foreign exchange high.

On a personal note,

He grew his own food constantly.

“Gabby,

(He’ll say)

Stop eating junk,

Come and get real food from me.”

Tomatoes,

Thyme and seasoning,

Tumeric and ginger galore,

I would get from Owen.

He was my vegetable store.

He made me

The cultural

Ambassador.

This is what he said,

“Sir Garry,

Sir Everton Weekes and you,

In this country

Must never beg for bread.”

A few days ago

This giant of a man

Had a massive heart attack.

I felt in my heart

The Owen I knew,

The great fighter,

Would be coming back.

But God

Had a different plan.

I hurt.

I cry.

I moan.

For one of the greatest human beings

I have ever known.

Written July 27, 2020

by Dr the most Honourable Anthony Gabby Carter