Home » Posts » #BTColumn – Sheep and goats among us

#BTColumn – Sheep and goats among us

by Barbados Today Traffic
3 min read

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by this author are their own and do not represent the official position of the Barbados Today Inc.

The late Owen Arthur warned Barbadians in the precincts of Parliament that we faced the threat of dictatorship if we were not willing to guard our democracy.

Our ignorance is now seeing arbitrary decisions being made because a party was given 30 seats in the House of Assembly.

We laughed at the losers in 2018 and now face the ironic situation of the winners laughing at us who now appear to be a bunch of losers.

Prime Minister Mia Mottley has no right by virtue of the 29 seats she commands in Parliament to make sweeping, fundamentally state-altering changes without the consultation of the people.

She has been given a mandate for five years, not for life. Why would we Barbadians, because of political ignorance and rabid association and deference to a political party stay silent like brainless sheep and let one individual make a change to republican status without consultation with the people.

We go on and on about the Queen as our Head of State as though each month or every two years, Queen Elizabeth gets up off her royal butt and comes to Barbados and interferes in any aspect of our lives.

We act as though because politicians feed us a particular narrative that we have to nod our heads like goats in acquiescence.

Having a President or a Queen is not going to stop the prices at Massy from being greater than at Popular.

Having a President or a Queen is not going to stop one civil servant being passed over for promotion just because his competitor is sleeping with the boss.

Having a President or a Queen is not going to stop Government giving its lackies jobs while thousands of Barbadians remain jobless.

Having a President or a Queen is not going to stop this Government from finding some other tax to level on the people.

Government has smartly led us into unnecessary debate about an unnecessary political move to create an unnecessary status at this time, that will have no fundamental alteration on the bread and butter issues that face us.

And like sheep, we are falling for it.

When last did anyone see Queen Elizabeth II standing in the line at Carlton holding up people from shopping? Politicians and their pimps talk about “identity”, “this is who we are”, “charting our own destiny”, as though switching from one ceremonial personage to another will make anyone hug his or her pillow at night any tighter and go to sleep feeling proud and saying, “I have a President doh, doh!”

Ignorance!

Roderick P Harris