Court Chief Magistrate says threats and insults to police cannot be tolerated by Barbados Today 01/09/2021 written by Barbados Today 01/09/2021 2 min read A+A- Reset Share FacebookTwitterLinkedinWhatsappEmail 347 This island’s Chief Magistrate Ian Weekes has expressed concern over what he described as a certain kind of “North American behaviour” that has invaded Barbados. He said the behavior had resulted in some people having no respect for those in authority. “Not on my watch!” Weekes declared as he dealt with a case of a 54-year-old maintenance man who threatened the life of a police officer and hurled insulting language at him as he executed his duties. Kamau Ato Hugo Moore, of Arden Close, Golden Rock, Pinelands, St Michael appeared before the District ‘A’ Magistrates’ Court and pleaded guilty to telling Constable Paul Goddard on August 21: “I would cut out you f***ing throat. I care nuttin bout you.” He also said, “You better ask the other police bout me yuh c**t. Only God cud r***hole carr me way, not no f***ing police.” The officer was on duty in Moore’s neighbourhood. As Moore walked by he saw the policeman speaking to another person and uttered the threats and insulting language despite being told to desist and that his behaviour constituted an offence. You Might Be Interested In Alleged burglar remanded Crime spree Francis to undergo assessment Moore subsequently left the area but was seen the following day and was arrested and charged. Before the court however, Moore was apologetic. “I want to apologize for my behavior. I was under the influence of alcohol. I was drinking for the whole day. I want to apologise to the constable,” he said. Chief Magistrate Weekes made it clear that his action would not be tolerated. “There are institutions in this place that must be protected or else we are in trouble. If there is no respect for authority in this place then the whole place will collapse. “We cannot have the Royal Barbados Police Force who are on the frontline in this place, going out there and being disrespected,” Weekes said as he informed Moore that he would be remanded pending sentence. “This blackguard behavior to one of the pillars of authority in this place will not be tolerated,” he added before remanding Moore to Dodds until September 27. Barbados Today Stay informed and engaged with our digital news platform. The leading online multimedia news resource in Barbados for news you can trust. You may also like Bar flags serious concerns over lawyer misconduct ruling 07/03/2026 Bail forfeited after fugitive accused flees island 07/03/2026 Hayde gets at least 60 years in prison after two slayings 06/03/2026