Home » Posts » #BTEditorial – Keeping Christmas culture alive during COVID

#BTEditorial – Keeping Christmas culture alive during COVID

5 min read

This week brought news that the century-old tradition of Christmas morning in Queen’s Park, which many Bajans look forward to, is on this year. Last week, we also learned that the curfew will be lifted on December 24, Christmas Eve, allowing worshippers to attend Midnight Mas’ and 5 a.m. Christmas morning service.

Days after that announcement, Government met with the entertainment sector and agreed to lift the ban to allow parties and fetes to be staged under strict COVID-19 protocols.

So while the Delta variant has caused our numbers to soar in recent times, and with eyes on the Omicron variant which is causing havoc worldwide, Bajans still feel the need to hold dear to many of their Christmas traditions. At least Government’s concessions suggest they do.

For the Christian-minded, Christmastime must include a time for worship and acknowledging the story of the birth of Jesus Christ. For others, Christmastime must include drinking “a rum and a punch a crema”, liming or partying all night long. Then there are some who do a mixture of both.

Other Bajan Christmas traditions include sprucing up homes, buying new furniture, curtains and décor, buying food and drink, socialising, buying gifts, spending time with family and friends, and beautifying ourselves, whether it be a hair-do or new attire.

So, in the midst of this global coronavirus pandemic, we find ourselves still striving to keep these traditions alive. It has been challenging to say the least.

Traditionally, either at Midnight Mas or Christmas morning service, congregants sing: We Wish You a Merry Christmas as people walk throughout the church greeting each other. In some cases, one may stumble upon a Bajan Yankee or someone who migrated years ago and a hug is in order.

The church must be mindful of its conduct while recognising this all-important day in the Christian calendar. There has been much talk that the church has been given more leeway than other entities as it relates to COVID regulations. Reverends, priests, pastors, church leaders, elders, even ushers, must be fully aware and be bold enough to speak out and act should they spot any breaches.

An event like Christmas Morning in the Park is a mass event by definition. There is a celebratory and euphoric atmosphere as Bajans take their stroll up and down the Park bedecked in their finest.

Most come as couples, groups of family or friends. Then, more than likely, you recognise someone you may not have seen for the entire year and feel compelled to greet them as we usually do — with a hug.

Then for the limers and party-goers, the need to socialise is the same, albeit the excessive consumption of alcohol may lead to the loss of inhibitions. This often opens the door for many possibilities. The reality is, too, that gyrating and dancing is a contact activity and no one but yourself can police how many dancing partners you have in one night.

It was agreed that fetes would be allowed a maximum of 500 patrons. The onus is now on promoters to ensure they do all in their power to send and resend the message of observing the COVID-19 protocols.

Truth is, if this period of entertainment is not managed properly, Government would have all right to swoop in and put another ban on the entertainment sector. Those who have lost out for close to two years due to the closure of the sector must be mindful of this when staging these upcoming events.

All in all, our Christmas traditions are potential COVID spreaders if we are not vigilant. The protocols established by the Ministry of Health and enforced by the COVID Unit have to be adhered to at all times in all spaces — religious or secular.

According to the Caribbean Tourism COVID-19 Task Force (CTCTF), “it will be critical to the region’s ability to control the virus’ spread and its highly contagious variants which are spiking around the world”.

The Task Force noted that COVID-19 and the newest variant, Omicron, can easily spread during large indoor gatherings and wherever people come in close contact when they are not protected.

“Face coverings, physical distancing, frequent hand washing, and avoiding large gatherings, particularly with unprotected individuals, should guide behaviours during the festive season,” the Task Force maintained.

So while we know that people may feel the need to let loose and celebrate given all we have been through this year, we hope every space and place does so with a level of care and responsibility. After all, we can ill afford to allow our traditions and culture to die a natural death at the hands of COVID-19.

In the words of Dr The Most Honourable Anthony Gabby Carter in his classic song, Culture, “That is my culture”, and therefore whether in the midst of a global pandemic or not, it is incumbent on all of us to keep these Bajan traditions alive.

Our culture and our way of life are the things that make us uniquely Bajan and what future generations will use to help define and chart our way forward.