Home » Posts » #BTColumn – A letter to the Senator

#BTColumn – A letter to the Senator

by Barbados Today Traffic
6 min read

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by the author(s) do not represent the official position of Barbados TODAY. 

by Nicholai Peters

Recently, to my surprise or maybe not so much a surprise, I opened Twitter and was greeted with another regressive assertion from one of our local senators.

It quickly reminded me of a time, not so long ago, where one of our local MPs suggested “drive less” in response to the exorbitant and unreasonable rise in gas prices.

If you recall Einstein’s parable of Quantum Insanity, he says “Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.”

To break it down, what the Senator [Shantal Munro-Knight] is proposing, is to repeat history and follow the economic model of countries with a significantly higher population like the USA – who roughly have a population of 335 million people and a higher population density than that of Barbados – population roughly 288,000 people.

It is clear as day, you can see there is a tremendous disparity in population therefore having a ripple effect on results of following the same economic model of taxing the middle-man into oblivion.

Meaning, countries like the USA with a significantly higher population density can easily shoulder the burden of whatever tax or levy imposed as it is more manageable per person/ household. This sadly Is not the case in Barbados.

“Even though the shoe is pinching a bit,” newsflash Senator (pun intended), the shoe no longer fits; this sadly is not a Cinderella story and ironically it also does not have a happy ending for the citizens of Barbados – specifically the middle class as we don’t want to drift off topic too much.

The only ones coming out unscathed time and time again are people like yourself, other MPs and the rich even though the three aforementioned are usually one and the same.

You speak of discomfort and contribution but my question to you and MPs alike is, where do you fall in the tax bracket? What significant, emphasis on significant (economic) contribution and sacrifices do you have to make in this ‘trying and uncomfortable time?’ How often have we heard this ‘similar narrative?’

As I mentioned in my interview on CVM television with host Raymond Pryce, 28th June 2022 on the broad topic Regional Leadership, I mentioned politicians and their disconnect from the reality of their constituents and supporters alike. I also reiterated the need to do the
‘ground work’ first before trying to seek aid regionally and eventually globally.

Clearly a closer look needs to be taken at said interview if politicians are to find a new blueprint and stop taking two steps forward and 10 steps backwards as time is of the essence considering we have to pay back our mammoth loan ($928 million by 2030) when so conveniently a lot of our current politicians may opt to find ‘new careers and hobbies’ while the next generation of politicians ‘Bare the burden of their predecessors’ – a quote from my recent debut interview on Regional Leadership on CVM.

Where do we know this story from? These exact circumstances? Let me give you the answer. Our current administration has done what the DLP they so often condemn and blame for their current mantle, did.

They led us into another round of cyclical debt for the debt pool. While I will give credit to their endless efforts prior to the COVID-19 pandemic, I think our recently re-elected administration has done what Senator Munro-Knight mentioned in the house – thrown their hands in the air and subconsciously surrendered to circumstances and reverted to old practices.

“I stand with my hands in the air to say that is true ” – Senator Munro-Knight in response to claims the middle class has always had to shoulder every economic and social burden thrown at Barbados.

The tax system model we should be implementing is the ‘progressive tax’ model. The progressive tax model entails taking a larger percentage of income from high-income groups than low-income groups.

In simple terms, the rich should be taxed more than the poor and by extention portions of the middle class. We must not forget there are degrees to classes (no pun intended), lower middle, upper middle etc etc.

What I believe we’re seeing even if it’s not intentional from our administration – because we must remember they are humans too and fall victim or are blinded to certain things no matter the level of education attained – is the regressive tax system. The name in itself says enough.

The regressive tax system takes a larger percentage of income from low-income groups than from high
income groups.

By using this model, the ‘middle class’ that will hurt the most are the ones that barely go over the tax requirement and are scraping their way to make a better life for themselves and their families – just to be pulled down again by our government as if our government was the oppressor trying to keep you on the plantation.

The interesting part about all of it is, has slavery ended or is it that we are no longer enslaved by the ‘Massa’ but more so enslaved by our leaders’ selfish ideologies and courses of action – which subsequently dictate our standard of living.

If my people and myself by extension can’t blow AC on full blast all day, why should you be able to? Why can’t you and other MPs with the same mindset and similar pay range take a pay cut and contribute to this debt since we are ‘One Barbados, One people’ and as an MP mentioned in his 2018 election campaign – a humble servant.

The AC analogy goes to say this, the days are physically uncomfortable already, Yuh wan mek it even more financially uncomfortable too? As if the current economic situation is not already emotionally exhausting?

This article has not been written or curated to warrant a verbal response but more so to shed light on our concerns as a people and to invoke a change in course of action.

The people of Barbados can’t catch a break, meet us half way and we can meet you half way cause as the saying goes “Yuh tekking a 6 for a 9” God’s Blessings on you Senator and other members of the House, I hope we can see things in a similar lens that benefits the people and makes your job easier over time.

Nicholai Peters, youth advocate and man of the people and for the people.