Home » Posts » These are a few of my favourite things

These are a few of my favourite things

by Barbados Today Traffic
3 min read

By Paula-Anne Jackman

Dear reader, you may be tempted to think I have some audacity to write an article about things Bajan, right in the middle of Independence celebrations, with the title of a famous Christmas song. But let me remind you that while My Favourite Things was famously sung on the 1961 Christmas special for The Garry Moore Show, it was written for the cult classic The Sound of Music by Richard Rodgers, in 1959.

Listening to the song as I write, I am moved to think of my favourite Bajan things. While many would first reference cou-cou, conkies, and watching the Independence parade, my mind flashes to the contemporary. I first went to some modern Bajan brands that always make me smile 166 square miles wide, the first of these being Nuh Broughtupsy. This Bajan brand, owned and operated by a Bajan woman and entrepreneur, Sunset Sealy, specialises in combining unique graphic design and quintessentially Bajan moods and sayings on quality t-shirts. Whether I am wearing my “We gone from bout hey” Bussa rebellion tee or my now outdated t-shirt proudly declaring my loyalty to “Team No Raisins” – I have since switched –, I am always excited to be wearing something so beautifully us. Check her out @nuh_broughtupsy on Instagram!

I remember sharing a post to my Instagram in 2021 completely on a whim. The prize, were I to be as lucky as the first person to get to the salt meat in the pot on Sunday, would be a handmade wristlet by Michelle Bowe. I won! And thus sparked a collection of gorgeous bags – three and counting. From designs including our symbolic broken trident to our one-of-a-kind bus stops, I love everything on her Instagram page @michellerbowe.

Living in the gastronomic capital of the Caribbean, this list cannot reach midway without something scrumptious on it. Just this year, I had the undisputed champion of fishcakes – from my biased perspective – on a trip to Oistins Bay Garden. These heavenly, bite-sized delights from the aptly named Angel’s truly boasted a flavour that blessed my palate! Warning: Angel’s fishcakes are difficult to share with others. Fun fact: Keeping the film references going in this article, Angel’s is so named because her father Charlie called his beautiful girls his angels. Only bout hey in Buhbaydus do you get a yummy meal and a good story for dessert.

This list is surely not exhaustive, especially without the mention of any liquid gold, but it would certainly be incomplete without mention of Stuff by Kraig Yearwood. No, I am not diminishing the work of this hardworking Bajan artist; the brand is called Stuff! A quick follow of @stuffbykraig on Instagram will reveal chattel-house-themed earrings, cane clutch bags, and other handmade, island-inspired, beautiful pieces that I love to add to my outfits as I ‘hit de road’.

Are any of my favs a fav of yours? Let me know over at @misspauwrites!