Home » Posts » AG: No one above the law

AG: No one above the law

2 min read

“If you break the law, we will find you and we will deal with you”.
Those were the stern words of warning issued by a tough-talking Attorney General Dale Marshall on Friday afternoon to anyone who believes they are above the law.
He was responding to a question from Member of Parliament for St Michael West Christopher Gibbs who, using a chess analogy, said some Barbadians were of the view that many individuals who are subjected to harsh penalties for gun crimes were the “lesser pieces on the chessboard” while the “bishops, kings and castles” were untouched.
“What are the strategies to go after the exporters and importers of illegal guns?” Gibbs asked.
Marshall said while he was not at liberty to disclose strategies to tackle the issue relating to guns entering the country, no one was immune to the law.
He said it was only a matter of time before those who have managed to elude authorities are caught and punished.
“I want to assure members of this chamber that as I pursue my responsibilities as Attorney General – and I know that as the Commissioner pursues his as Commissioner of Police – that there are no sacred cows. If you break the law we will find you and we will deal with you.
“If you are a king or a queen, it may be that you may consider yourself to be a little bit insulated or a little bit further out of reach, but the tools of modern policing are such that we have the ability to get to you, and rest assured that we will be getting to you. There is that old saying, ‘what ain’t catch yuh ain’t pass yuh yet,” warned Marshall.
“So let me send a warning that if there are people who believe that for some reason they are above the law, whatever that reason is, that is not a concept that is known to this Attorney General, this Prime Minister, our National Security Council, the Commissioner or any of our law enforcement agencies. No one will be beyond the reach of law enforcement.”
Endorsing Marshall’s comments, Commissioner of Police Richard Boyce assured that members of the Barbados Police Service would leave no stone unturned in their duty to arrest crime on the island. (MM)