Home » Posts » Rape accused denies having sexual contact with girl

Rape accused denies having sexual contact with girl

3 min read

Jamar Kevin-Lee Blackman told the nine-member jury in the No. 5A Supreme Court on Thursday that he never had any sexual interaction with the minor he is accused of raping.

Giving an unsworn statement from the dock, the Maynards, St Peter resident, who is charged with having sexual intercourse with a girl under the age of 14 on February 11, 2015, said that on that date, he was in the park when his friend, who he referred to as Mice, asked to use his apartment to bring over a girl. Blackman said he granted him permission to do so.

The accused said the day proceeded as normal and Mice came back and they “breezed” together. He said two to three days later, a woman approached him and asked him if he knew “this little girl here”.

“I tell she ‘I ain’t know she, but I see she a couple days ago. She come down here with a fella and buy wrapper and fanta’. She turned and say, ‘My daughter say you had sex with her’ and I tell she, ‘That’s a lie. I never do nutten so. I never see she, never touch she like that and never had a conversation wid she’. She turn and say that if it is so, she would tek money and we would call it dat. I tell she ‘I ain’t giving you no money cause I ain’t went around you daughter’,” he recalled.

Blackman said a few days later, he approached the complainant’s mother asking why he was hearing his name being called “in something I ain’t do and ain’t know bout”. The woman told him the child’s father wanted to speak to him and he agreed to have the conversation.

Blackman stated that the girl’s father appeared about 20 minutes later and asked him if he was the man who interfered with his daughter.

“I ask he wuh name he hear get call and he say Booming. I tell he that is not my name and that my name is Jamar and my nickname is Bandy since I was a child. He turn and ask (the girl) if she had sex with me and she say, ‘No’,” he recalled.

The accused told the court that his name was “always being called in things” as he was popular in the area.

He told the court that he heard nothing more about the matter until police began investigating a 2016 shooting that occurred when he and several other persons were in Benn Hill, St Peter liming. He said he went to give a statement in that matter, but when he did not identify any of the assailants, an officer began calling him Booming and told him he was under arrest for having sex with a minor.

“I ask him, ‘Wuh minor? I don’t talk to no little children. I don’t deal with nothing so’, and he tell me I would have to deal with that in court,” Blackman added.

He also submitted that several modifications had been made to his genitals a year prior to the alleged incident that the complainant should have been able to speak of in her testimony if he had sexual intercourse with her.

Senior State Counsel Romario Straker is prosecuting the matter while defence attorney Martie Garnes represents the accused.

Justice Christopher Birch is presiding over the trial which continues on Friday.