EntertainmentFocus Teen channels personal tragedy into Junior Monarch semi-finals performance by Emmanuel Joseph 05/07/2025 written by Emmanuel Joseph Updated by Barbados Today 05/07/2025 3 min read A+A- Reset King K Share FacebookTwitterLinkedinWhatsappThreadsBlueskyEmail 1.4K Teen channels personal tragedy into Junior Monarch semi-finals performance After completing his weekly focus on the standout performers from the two tent sessions of the 2025 Scotiabank Junior Monarch event, Barbados TODAY’s Emmanuel Joseph turned his spotlight on the semi-finals held last Sunday at the Marquee Tent of the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill. This week, the gifted and dynamic young calypsonian from The Lodge School – Kadarius Alleyne, stage name King K – earns his pick as the best overall semi-final kaiso performer of the night. He was one of eight selected by the judges to progress to the finals on July 19 at the Wildey Gymnasium. A 13-year-old calypsonian who was directly impacted by a shooting that shook the nation, emerged as one of the standout performers in the Scotiabank Junior Monarch semi-finals, captivating judges and audience alike with a raw, heartfelt performance inspired by his fateful experience. If last Sunday had been finals night, King K would have been crowned the new Scotiabank Junior Calypso Monarch by a clear margin. It may not be widely known that there was no faking the pain, passion and conviction that poured from his innermost being: he lived and experienced the life of which he sang. The song, Fake It Till Yuh Make tells of being encouraged to appear as if all is well despite having to live in a community considered a “hot spot” for criminal activity. You Might Be Interested In Crystal Beckles-Holder, 2nd runner up in regional competition Lights, camera, flash! Can‘t stop his roll “The song is about what is going on today with at-risk youth and their struggles. I helped with writing of the song,” King K told Barbados TODAY. And if that was not enough evidence to support the reason behind this young talent’s verve, heart-tugging, soul-wrenching and tear-jerking rendition, then consider this. King K’s dear friend and 13-year-old schoolmate Shawnaton Chase died after being shot while watching a netball game in Silver Hill, Christ Church. He said his song was partly motivated by that tragedy. “My friend that died…it’s a little bit of that, and then my lifestyle…about my life and then my friend that passed away…,” the slimly built student recalled. Asked what Shawnaton’s death taught him, he replied: “Just that you have to expect the unexpected and anything can happen at any time.” King K’s message to young people is: “Never give up. Stop the crime; there is no need for it — it’s death or jail…doesn’t make any sense.” He also suggested that the motive behind the crime and violence is “anger, having the wrong mindset and following the wrong crowd.” Declaring that his mother is his hero, the teen calypsonian attributed his decision to enter the Junior Monarch contest to her encouragement. “My school had a school competition, and I just entered it, and my mum pushed me to continue and I went on from there,” said the aspiring musical engineer. He also recalled that his mother discovered that he could sing; and he also knew it too. (EJ) Emmanuel Joseph You may also like DJ Puffy Delivers a Landmark “Open to Close” 2025 Set in NYC... 17/07/2025 Half Moon Fort pupils urged to ‘unleash potential’ at graduation 12/07/2025 St Alban’s Primary head urges graduands to dream big, embrace all-round growth 10/07/2025