Home ยป Posts ยป Vendors complex sees strong Crop Over weekend turnout, sales

Vendors complex sees strong Crop Over weekend turnout, sales

by Ricardo Roberts
3 min read

A surge in family attendance and vendor earnings marked Crop Over weekend at the BARVEN complex on the Mighty Grynner Highway, with organisers reporting one of their most profitable periods and positioning the venue as a growing hub for all-ages entertainment.

Despite concerns over post-Foreday Morning foot traffic along the traditional routes, management at the BARVEN complex reported that stallholders enjoyed one of their most lucrative periods to date, buoyed by targeted promotional campaigns and a broad line-up of cultural performances.

Glenroy Forde, the complexโ€™s marketing manager, expressed satisfaction with the financial returns and overall atmosphere during Bridgetown Market. The majority of stallholders surpassed their commercial expectations for the final lap of the festival, he said.

โ€œBefore I could even ask the questions, I was hearing that this was the best turnout we ever had and the most sales we ever made,โ€ said Forde. โ€œNot every vendor will have a product that the public knows of, so they might not make a sale, but the majority of those vendors down there made sales and were happy that we had entertainment and outlets for the children to have a great time.โ€

The weekendโ€™s entertainment strategy relied heavily on collaboration with musician King Shepherd, whose hit single Wuk up on It helped drive promotion across traditional media and online platforms. Promoters aimed to create a weekend package capable of attracting patrons across all demographics, particularly families.

Shepherd said the BARVEN complex filled a gap in the islandโ€™s nightlife and cultural offering by providing a safe, inclusive space for older generations and young children alike:

โ€œThere hasnโ€™t been a place where granny can go, granddaddy can go, mummy can go, and child father can go. There isnโ€™t a place like that in Barbados right now with a sense of a family-oriented feeling in the atmosphere. Granny came out, all the way from
St Lucy, with their grandchildren and everything. My concept is to create a family-oriented weekend at BARVEN park.โ€

The event featured a range of Caribbean dishes, including Bajan, Trinidadian, Guyanese and Jamaican options, alongside a fun park and multi-genre musical selections designed to appeal to both residents and visitors.

The festival period also saw the introduction of an independent private road parade held ahead of Kadooment Day. The parade proceeded along the Spring Garden Highway before concluding at the complex, drawing revellers directly to the vendors.

โ€œThe parade went with no violence and no hiccups; people had a great time,โ€ย  Forde said. โ€œLots of those people came off the Spring Garden Highway and came into the BARVEN, sat down, had ice cream, took off their slippers, and relaxed. This was the best Crop Over that I have experienced here.โ€

Despite the commercial success, organisers identified key infrastructural and operational areas requiring attention to build on this yearโ€™s momentum. Chief among these are site lighting, aesthetic improvements and increased security.

Because the BARVEN complex is surrounded by a residential community, organisers pointed to the need to upgrade lighting to ensure patrons and nearby residents feel secure during evening events.

โ€œOne of the concepts was giving brighter light into that complex; it is something that is definitely needed,โ€ย  Forde explained. โ€œWe want people to feel safe because they are surrounded by a housing community. Beautifying the place with more plants and upgrading the lighting system are priorities. You cannot invite families there with their grandchildren if you do not have the proper lights.โ€

Management plans to use media initiatives, including a dedicated weekly radio show, to give entrepreneurs ongoing marketing exposure beyond Crop Over.

Sustained promotional budgets, enhanced security and physical upgrades could establish the BARVEN complex as a regular weekly option for commerce and community entertainment, Forde suggested.

(RR)ย