Home » Posts » PM and family say goodbye to beloved brother, son, father

PM and family say goodbye to beloved brother, son, father

by Anesta Henry
5 min read

Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley took a break from running the country to join her family in bidding farewell to her brother, Warren, during an emotional funeral service at the St Mary’s Anglican Church, The City on Friday.

Throughout the service which was also attended by Governor General Dame Sandra Mason, Mottley spent much time comforting her close relatives.

She could be seen gently stroking the back of her father, Sir Elliott Mottley, as he nestled his head in his hands, and reached out to hug Warren’s widow, Shawn, and their daughters Emanuelle and Laurenne.

Prime Minister Mottley said her 54-year-old brother, who died of an undisclosed ailment at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) on June 29, would have wanted his life to be celebrated.

Warren Mottley’s widow Shawn and his daughters Emanuelle and Laurenne.

Standing beside her other brother Stewart and sister Elan, she reminded those gathered at the church and viewers who tuned in via live stream, that Warren was a good man who did not represent himself as somebody he was not.

“He was who he was and he was happy to be who he was . . . . When I went to see him, he said ‘you leaving already?’ and I said ‘yes, we leaving because you got to get some rest’ and he said ‘bounce me nuh’. And that was Warren. That ease of communication, no fanfare,” she said.

Mottley added that Warren was a practical joker who had a dry wit which he used to turn situations around and take pressure off others.

The Prime Minister, the eldest of the Mottley siblings, looked over at her father and told him he should be proud that Warren followed in his footsteps and emulated aspects of his life.

Fighting to hold back tears with her daughters and mother-in-law, Lady Mottley, at her side, Warren’s widow said her late husband believed in the continuity of life and would not want his loved ones to be sad at this difficult time.

“One day all will be as it was before, only better, infinitely better, and we will be together again forever,” Shawn said.

She reflected on how Warren became her everything when they met in her homeland, Jamaica, in the late 90s. She said her husband never left her side without giving her a kiss and did not start eating a meal without her. He often gave the most beautiful and thoughtful gifts to her and their daughters, whom he nurtured and guided into becoming the beautiful, intelligent and confident young women they are today, Shawn recalled.

She added: “Although Warren didn’t like to admit it, he was a people person and was the ultimate hospitality director. Warren believed that the most important person was the person in front of you. He had the ability to interact clearly with every single person.

“He didn’t hold a grudge. He didn’t bring any of his past interactions to the table. I find myself saying to so many people, ‘Warren loved you’ and it is the truth. He managed to do that because he loved with the biggest of hearts.”

Shawn also noted that over the years, her husband, who was an attorney at Mottley & Co. law chambers established by his father, blossomed into a knowledgeable, trusted and well-respected lawyer.

“Warren did occasionally confess that being born 10 months after Mia was not an easy task. He told stories about how in summers when they were young, he would struggle to read one Hardy Boys novel, while Mia read several books, including Roots,” she said.

“But, instead of being intimidated, Warren was one of Mia’s most ardent supporters. Later in life, he loved canvassing for her and took great pride in being her counting officer. He also took pride in being Elan and Stewart’s big brother.”

Elan recalled that Warren, with whom she shared a close bond, would lead her into mischievous activities when they were children. She said not only did she and Warren get lashes from their father for jumping on the bed as their older sister Mia read a book, but they made it their duty to get up early on Saturday mornings to climb fruit trees, as they enjoyed a fun childhood.

A tearful Elan said: “I am so proud of my brother. I knew the funny side of him. I knew the mischievous side of him. But the side that came as he grew older, was the side that made me most proud. He was an amazing father. I admired him so much and his commitment and loyalty and love to Shawn, every woman would want to strive for that.”

Stewart read a poem written by his mother, in which she professed her love for Warren and spoke about how blessed she feels to be his mother.

Stewart read: “One of the last things you said to me, ‘Mummy, hold my hand. Thank you, Mummy’. No words were needed for me to understand. I am confident you would know, in this life or the next, I will never let go.”

Reverend Canon Wayne Isaacs who officiated the funeral service told Warren’s loved ones who are feeling lost and hopeless at this time, that the Word of God encourages them to live in hope and not to allow despair to define their lives.

He issued a reminder that the presence of God in people’s lives does not guarantee that they will not experience adversity, disappointment, death and hopelessness.

Canon Isaacs said: “The Bible tells us that when we go through these painful experiences in our life, God is with us. The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases. And these words are meant to give us encouragement in all the difficult times we meet in our lives. They can help us to overcome anxiety when we are faced with unpleasant situations and events like death, as we do today.”

(anestahenry@barbadostoday.bb)