Effective midnight tonight, the price of gasoline and diesel will decrease, while that of kerosene and liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) will remain unchanged.
The price of gasoline will be adjusted from BDS $3.71 per litre to BDS $3.60 per litre, a reduction of 0.11 cents.
The price of diesel will decrease by 0.17 cents, moving from $3.17 per litre to $3.00 per litre. Kerosene will continue to retail at $1.44 per litre.
Liquefied petroleum gas will continue to retail as adjusted at December 2, 2018. The LPG 100lb cylinder will be sold at $163.07, the 25lb cylinder at $45.87, the 22lb cylinder at $40.53, and the 20lb cylinder at $36.84.
These price adjustments are in keeping with Government’s policy of allowing retail prices to be reflective of those on the international market.
Is the quality going to improve??? Need to go lower!
Wish I know earlier, just filled up.
Want to know when the quality of the gasoline at pumps will be seriously investigated… Tired of putting water in my tank
Last 10 years prices comes down by cents every few months then goes up by dollars lol. It will be good to see the opposite for a change??
I thought I was the only one have the same view Mr Ryan
Ok how long will this be for until it goes up again
I am thankful
We want better fuel plz,it doesn’t last it’s to poor….
Two decreases back to back?
Wait for this 41cent increase in February or March
De gas ain’t no good !
All these people saying that the fuel ain’t no good and still putting it in their vehicles. Are all of you mechanics.
So true a big rip off
Thanks for no road Tax this year.
In Bim we get RIP-off with the one GAS fit all gasoline engines. I know of 3 different grades of gas which comes with a price vary.
Older vehicles should U.S.e Regular Unleaded 87 octane next line up unleaded Plus 89 octane . While New and top of the line vehicles must use Premium which is 92 octane. We done know all unleaded gasoline done with.
Should read LEADED Gas.
Under the Dems gasoline came down 4 cents one month and went up 10 cents the next, and motorists still had to pay Road Tax, NSRL and Excise Tax.
Now the price of gasoline and diesel is almost the same as before the fuel tax…and no Road Tax. Wow! Mia really cares.
u for real carl.new yr and back with ur dribble. not to defend anyone but ubtalking nonsense..it was at $3.40..u tacked on 20 cents then fuel tax..it went to 4.00..now it still above wat it was
.maybe u raked in more than expected from that excessive fuel tax..ur political baggage got u spouting folly..ur one ..person
and by the way..at least give God a little praise at times..He surely cares
ALEX ALLEYNE
There are some vehicle manufacturers in the USA who would not export certain types of engines to Barbados because of our poor fuel quality. We are still operating in the Austin , Bedford and Massey Harris era.
@Belfast, now can we make sure we get Quality for money.
Carl Harper is so accustomed to lying, that he/she cannot help itself. He/she is a bold faced former government official, as crooked as a rubber band in vertical position. While the BLP was the official opposition party in Parliament, it constantly lambasted the former DLP Administration, for the fluctuation in fuel prices. Nothing has changed now the slick tongue boys and girls run things. As a matter of fact, the prices are at a constant high, and I expect them to go even higher, come the next quarter of this year. The revenue figures will dictate that. We will see which administration imposed higher taxes on Barbadians. The 26 fat cat imposters, still draw hefty salaries with their five percent pay hike, while public workers are getting fired forever and evermore. One wonders if the increased number of suicides, are liked in any way, to the ruthless BLP/BERT/IMF love package, which the present MPs(including so-called Opposition Leader Joe Atherley), gathered at 111 Roebuck Street and carefully crafted to inflict the pain on Barbadian citizens.
PATTY do the maths or call an 11 year old to do it for YOU.
“Under the Dems gasoline came down 4 cents one month and went up 10 cents the next, and motorists still had to pay Road Tax, NSRL and Excise Tax.”
In other words and according to your LIMITED ABILITY to UNDERSTAND the BASICS ,I would put it this way…under DEM you were paying in BARROW DOLLARS now we are PAYING in GRANTLEY DOLLARS and 2 BARROW DOLLARS make 1 GRANTLEY…so who was paying MORE money?
Wha you eating today PATTY ?…BREADFRUIT and wha ? or you gine in de Market for FRESH MEAT?… he he he !!
So let me continue to expand my earlier post on this exciting news that Barbadians are now paying the same price per gasoline today as they were before the fuel tax became effective in July last year, even without factoring in the added out-of-pocket savings from abolition of the Road Tax.
The fuel tax was levied at a rate of 40 cents per liter of petrol, 40 cents per liter of diesel and five cents per liter of kerosene. This represented a net increase on gas and diesel of 28 cents per liter when the 12 cents per liter (11 cents on diesel) NSRL was removed. Still motorists were forced to cough up from $400 to $1,600 annually to pay a one-time Road Tax fee.
At March 2015 Barbadians were paying $2.84 per liter for gasoline at the pump. By May 2018 when the DLP was kicked out of office, it was up to $3.40 per liter (up 9 cents from $3.31 the previous month). At the beginning of June, using the same pricing mechanism established by the DLP government, it continued along the same upward trajectory to $3.60 per liter. The fuel tax took effect on July 1, 2018.
So we see how gasoline prices jumped 20% under the Dems in three years, and nobody complained. It is like, we are “happy” to pay $3.40 per liter but not $3.60. In all this under the last DLP administration, Black Bajans were shafted with 12 cents per liter NSRL and 50% Excise Tax on gasoline, and between $400 to $1,600 for Road Tax.
Today, under a BLP administration, the new price of gasoline at the pump is the same $3.60 per liter after its first week in Office but with NO NSRL, NO Road Tax and people complaining bitterly. Now with massive savings and more money in their pockets to spend on fetes and cruises, the narrative has shifted to the quality of the gasoline. LOL!
Perhaps PM Mottley should have left the Road Tax in place since everybody appeared quite comfortable with it in place. But Mia cares! Once that Tax was removed, everyone whipped out calculators and became 11-plus Exam Mathematics wizards to see how much more they would either be spending or saving over a 12-month period.
Persons with 2.0 liter engine vehicles paying $1,600 per year were ecstatic with the savings over 12 months while the majority with 1.6 liter-sized engines paying $400 per annum were frowning a bit at the equivalent cost of a few lottery tickets over the same period. Bear in mind that any excess could be recovered by adjusting driving habits such as driving less or carpooling, properly inflating tires, maintaining moderate speeds etc.
One thing is for sure about Bajans, life would indeed be quite boring if we were not complaining about something, and some are truly happiest when they are unhappy.
JOHNNY CROW…looks as though you haven’t seen what you were so desperate to see..you in got none?…then you need to get a TRANSPLANT asap
…and here you are again talking about PEOPLE KILLING DEM SELVES…you gone from PUBLICLY saying that YOU would KILL YOURSELF to mentioning PEOPLE.
….and of course ” We will see which administration imposed higher taxes on Barbadians.”….and…and…. who have the MOST to SHOW FOR IT …and over a 10 YEAR and 90 day period too… why ya leff out DEM ands ?
Why ya getting on so HYPER bout?…we got NUFF time..RELAX and listen for the ALL CLEAR from the MASSES and stop minding de PEOPLES BIZNESS.
@Harry Turnover: “PATTY do the maths or call an 11 year old to do it for YOU.”
LOL, Harry! Did not realize that we had both included “11 year old” and “11-plus Exam Mathematics wizards” in our posts. Guess I posted mine before refreshing page and therefore did not see yours first. It is really juvenile and elementary — like 11-year-olds — thought processes that seem to go into some postings.
There are some comments that I ignore now, altogether. Once I see some names I just skip to the next comment without reading them. They do not stimulate me intellectually in any way whatsoever.
By the way, I arrived safely back to the bitter cold of the northern climes over the weekend. Keep up the relentless work of hammering Dems yardfowls and remind readers of the “rape” their Ministers they committed on taxpayers monies.
Stop talking and do something about it
Gas prices said to drop at 12 midnight. I gone Sol Redmans village at 12:29am and asked the attendant if the pumps calibrate already. He said nope. I asked for the manager and he said he ain there. So tell me sain, wouldn’t it be illegal to have your fuel priced at the old price when a government sanctioned fuel decrease was issued? If I didn’t ask would I have been told? Is this a way for some gas stations to rob us? I have nuff questions cause this is madness.
When gas gine up dem does calibrate de pumps at 11:59pm. Why are some gas stations indulging in this wicked practice and how can it be stopped?
harry..carl..one and the same the thinking…pure govt propogandist..
Why does Barbados need to pay bureaucrats to perform a function the market handles perfectly well?
When gas reach 40 cents a liter plus no fuel tax then I will be happy.
Yes Carl Harper I saw your “11-plus Exam Mathematics wizards”…that PATTY needs to go back to the MARKET… the butcher man trick she ..doesn’t even know that X-RAY starts with an X
You just gave her a lesson in ELEMENTARY MATHS,and she head knot up and spinning like a pop kite coming down after reading it.
PATTY go and LAY DOWN before ya fall down like a DEAD cockroach with feet cock up in the air.
Glad to know you arrived safely ..don’t know how you manage but I was never a fan of cold Countries,however,I WILL continue to REMINISCE and keep the doings of that CROOKED DEMOCRATIC LABOR PARTY clASS of 2008-2018 in the PUBLIC DOMAIN
Why do you fill up your tank with today’s third highest priced gas in the entire World and by the time that you get home you only have a quarter tank?
The quality of fuel imported into Barbados needs to comply to as set standard,and each shipmen monitored by the Barbados Standards Institute.
Gas stations also need to be periodically come under the scrutiny of Weights and Measures, or whatever it is called these days, to ensure that we the motorists ,are not having our eyes juck out by some unscrupulous operators, who now seem to be given the keys to adjust the price and quantities at the pumps.