Court I was wrong’ by Barbados Today 15/01/2019 written by Barbados Today 15/01/2019 2 min read A+A- Reset Share FacebookTwitterLinkedinWhatsappEmail 266 Between sobs, a 56-year-old woman told a magistrates’ court today, that she was sorry for embarrassing herself and family after stealing $27 worth of items from a beauty store on January 14. Janice St. Clair of 6 Hilton Row, Princess Royal Avenue, Pinelands, St Michael, admitted to acting Magistrate Anika Jackson that she went into BGI Beauty Inc. on Constitution Road, St Michael, and stole one nail polish remover worth $12; a pack of hair nets worth $3 and two hair accessories worth $12, total value $27. According to prosecutor, PC Kenmore Phillips, the mother of five entered the establishment around 12:30 p.m. and went to the shelves where the items were displayed and placed them in a bag. She was observed by security and the police were summoned. Initially, St Clair said she had nothing to say after the prosecutor oulined the matter, but changed her mind and said: “I am sorry, I know I was wrong.” She further told the court that her eldest child, a 38-year-old young man chided her and said: “Look at you, you tell we don’t get we selves in nuh trouble and look wuh you gone and do.” Noting that the ages of her other children are – 37, 31, 30 and 26, St Clair said that her daughter does not live at her. You Might Be Interested In Alleged burglar remanded Crime spree Francis to undergo assessment Asked if her four sons were working, she said only the 38-year-old, adding that one was also deaf and dumb, and the others were not working because of the economic situation now being experienced in the island. When the eldest son came to stand surety, he admitted that he was still angry with his mother and the acting Magistrate pointed out to him, that his brothers were adults and must contribute to the household. She added “As the eldest, I want you to impress upon the others the need to help your mother. Barbados has a lot of opportunities, there are things out there that can be done.” Before placing the middle-aged woman on 80 hours of community service, the acting magistrate told her “I have taken into account that you pleaded guilty at the first opportunity and placed yourself at the mercy of the court. You admitted that you are embarrassed and that you are under undue stress.” However, she warned St Clair that if the Probation Department found that she was not fit for community service she would look at other options but fining for theft was out of the question. Bail was in the sum of $500 with one surety and the matter was adjourned until April 5. Barbados Today Stay informed and engaged with our digital news platform. The leading online multimedia news resource in Barbados for news you can trust. You may also like Man admits to having sex with minor without knowing age 25/03/2025 Convicted murderer gets six years for gun and ammo possession 22/03/2025 Man remanded for Derricko St Hill murder 22/03/2025