Below is a statement from the United Progressive Party’s Public Relations Officer Wayne Giffith
The January spate of gun-play has Barbadians in absolute fear for our lives as we witness an unprecedented display of mayhem in the streets. We fear especially for the innocent ones on their way to and from school.
Despite the responsibilities related directly to law and order being accurately reassigned to the portfolio of the Attorney General Dale Marshall, his subsequent visits into troubled communities served as only ineffective optics and cannot redress the matter at hand.
With Barbados at the peak of the Tourist season, the nation is anxiously awaiting the arrest of those responsible not only for these executions but those involved in the importation of illegal
firearms.
At this stage where homicides outnumber road fatalities, the country needs to hear from Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley who was given a complete mandate to resolve the matters of national
importance and security.
The United Progressive Party calls on the prime minister to use her vast influence to hopefully dissuade the criminal intentions of those who wish to commit these heinous offenses.
(CNN) - Miss South Africa rules all. Zozibini Tunzi was crowned Miss Universe Sunday night after excelling through rounds of swimsuit and…
Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley is looking to Africa and the Pacific for new growth prospects for artists and designers…
A motorcyclist suffered serious head injuries in a collision at the intersection of Drax Hall Road and Greens Road,…
Police are investigating the unnatural death of Shamar Rojoe Bascombe of Hannay's Valley, Windsor, Christ Church. Lawmen say Bascombe was…
UNITED NATIONS, CMC – The United Nation’s World Food Programme (WFP) has described Latin America and the Caribbean as “a laboratory…
A changing economic environment, coupled with the effects of climate change, will require every Barbadian citizen to adapt to a…
View Comments
Ruff, Ruff: Who let the dogs out? Ruff, Ruff
uh want de scanners and de cameras
The turf fight will be over when they get put in the kennels and the graves
The Prime Minister and the rest of the Cabinet are too busy looking after the precious Cash Box and Collection Plate to bother about the decimation and uneasiness of the peasants.
Nothing is being done or seen to be done , because they all behave the same way over crime in Barbados,, a bunch of scared people all they do is talk, talk, talk……………
When the numbers start to fall on tourist arriving in Barbados, then they will try and do something , which will be too late....
People all , why, why nothing is been done???????????
Harry Turnover I speaking for Johnny Crow. At no time during the 10 years and 90 days of DLP rule was there 8 murders in one month and the month aint eveh finish yet. Think before yuh type.As a matter of fact at no time in the history of Barbados was there more murders than road fatalities in a single month. Think about that and tell us who is the real johnny.
I am certain the PM will address the gun violence in Barbados. Everyone should be concerned about what is happening but the UPP is playing politics but they are on their last leg, losing their most dynamic performers and now only with a skeleton group of actors. Any group that starts out with a vengeful move, will suffer the consequences like they suffered in the last elections on May 21st. But more is to come. That skeleton group will dwindle and dwindle as more and more leave and as the new grouping makes themselves heard.
If UPP thinks they have a following, the leader needs to stage a meeting so she and her group can put the case to the Barbadian people. I bet they would not get even fifty people, and I am being generous.
@Greengiant
Make up your mind, Greengiant! What is it that you want? Everyday you are on this blog railing about PR stunts from PM Mottley, now you want to hear her speak. What exactly would you like to hear her say? Tell me so I can pass on the message for you.
Listen up! You did not hear a peep from Freundel Stuart for 10 years and 90 days and you got accustomed to it. Well, Ms. Mottley will speak at a time and place of her choosing, and not because you and the UPP want to hear from her on this occasion.
Stick to what you and your UPP are good at — upstaging the Dems.
...and JOHNSON CROW...you in shame that your beloved but CROOKED DEMOCRATIC LABOR PARTY.. the FOUNDING PARTY of the ISLANDS' INDEPENDENCE get SHUT DOWN?...and you in SHAME that after that MASSIVE DISAPPOINTMENT two of the MOST EXPERIENCED and DECORATED LOSERS were selected to be the PRESIDENT and VICE PRESIDENT?......ya JOHNNY
....and since you like PEAKS and CHECKS...check the amount of MURDERS that were committed during the period of the last CROOKED DEMOCRATIC LABOR PARTY S' REIGN and get back to me and while you are at it...check and tell me which POLITICIAN brought to work a GUN... if he got CHARGED and if a PRECEDENT wasn't set then.
Look how DEM YARD FOWLS,PIMPS and PALING COCKS gine fly out of the WOODWORK like TERMITES now after 8 months...look at DEM..one by one they gine come out to release some of that BOTTLED UP MISERY and DEJECTION from within their BOSOMS and BOWELS apparently having still not recovered from that WIPE OUT and SHUT OUT of their beloved but CROOKED DEMOCRATIC LABOR PARTY.
@GREENGIANT,yes we would all like to hear from the PM,no long speech required,no specifics exspected but some form of reassurance that as she grapples with the many issues to get Barbados back on a steady footing she has not dismissed the worrying trend of CRIME and VIOLENCE,the MURDERS,SHOOTINGS and SABBINGS.YOU promised us the earth,the moon and the seven stars,we don't want no more promises we are looking for action otherwise you are as guilty as the previous government and will have a lot of blood on your hands if you fail to act swiftly.
She too shame, she en know what to say now.
Her big mouth Attorney General, Dale Marshall had all the answers when he was in Opposition in the last Parliament, just like the party had all the answers to immediately fix the sewage problem in Christ Church. Neither is true; both are like are like an albatross hung around the MPs necks. Gun shootings and murders almost daily, since BLP fat cats grabbed all 30 constituency seats.Crime reached its peak during the Owen Arthur reign, check it for yourself and you will be informed about the truth.
JANUARY 24, 2019 -