The Transport Authority has advised all permit holders and operators (drivers and conductors) of privately-owned routed public service vehicles – minibuses and route taxis – that the new uniform and dress code will come into effect on Friday, March 1.
Uniform shirts may be obtained from Sample Enterprises and M Grafix Incorporated.
The Authority thanks the permit holders and operators for their cooperation and looks forward to their support as it continues to improve all areas of the public transportation sector.
Driving code next. Mo money, mo hustling.
. . . . . and tech them about courtesy and respect also.
A uniform ain’t going mek them conform. Dream on.
good point.
I hope the hygiene is coming into effect as well.
For the first day?
i thought they had uniforms already and never wore them? Also if each uniform could include a cake of soap and deodorant that would be helpful
If and when you get them to dress properly which would mean having proper shoes and people not seeing their butt crack ask them not to stop and pee all over the place. Also ask them to have a bathe and proper hygiene. No loud nasty lyric music and alcohol when driving people.
Bajans
How many times have dress codes came into being for these guys ?
I see strike looming again
Will hygiene be in effect also
You know when you read the comments you have to ask how could anyone ever consider privatising the Transport Board and placing it in the hands of these jokers. I have to as a Bajan I am ashamed of this group, how could they be part of what is supposed to be an organised transport system? But don’t just blame them, blame the so called owners. If you remember they were like church mice in the last strike and instead of making their stand as investors, they instead pushed the drivers to the frontline. So tell me after doing that who you really think in control now? Further to considering giving you all the transport board i wouldn’t even consider given you a Transport Board Bus to wash!
well i hope wunna give them a soap and bathe code too
Is a dress code more important, or just as important as proper behavior on the road?
If they start making the owner accountable you will see how fast the culture change. Make the owners pay some hefty fines and watch them change
. . . .. because most of the owners are politicians !
That’s nice and the DRiViNG CODE?
blind John said we will see it out hope this new directive come with baths hair grooms shoes no sagging pants and no holey dingy boxers
I can’t wait to see a cohort of them form a platoon at the Independence Parade!
Who is really expecting change, some so guys don’t even change that often….Wait and see ,I am seeing a small percentage getting in uniform…. Who is going to enforce this policy, most of the psv people do what they like……….
Some of the PSVs do as they like bcos as Ossie Moore said some owners are politicians and high-ups….How can you get a group to abide by rules when some of the rule-breakers are the rule-makers themselves.
They keep changing this group’s uniforms but the Transport Board Drivers’ Uniforms havent changed….why is that? And some ppl that drove ZR are now driving Transport Buses…
This appears to be a money-making scheme for some…The same ppl just got taxed with everyone else, no rise in Bus-fare but new uniforms on 1st March….Everything backwards, what should be first is last and what should be last is first…someone is making money !!
so what exactly is this supposed to help? lol Bim love a sideways move that improves nothing. Do dress codes save money, make it safer, improve the economy? none of the above. Should have taken all that energy and found a way to invest and promote euntropenuers instead of more useless laws.
Grandma’s words: “Yah could tek a monkey out the woods, but yah can’t tek the woods out the monkey”.
Most of these drivers and conductors have mouths and attitudes, as stink as their armpits usually are. A ferris wheel of unsolvable problems.
Will dressing in uniform makes those undesirables obey the laws of the road and respect the passengers? The smoking of dope and drinking of alcohol while on the job? Will it stop the overcrowding and the loud playing of music? This I got to see. The last administration implemented uniforms too. Did the bad behavior changed? These people in authority keep doing the samething and expecting different results. Bunch of nincompoops.
Since returning to Barbados about 4 years ago, I’ve been impressed at how superficial a society we have become. So we impose a dress code (yet again) – how magnificent. However, nothing to be said here about the nasty lyrics, loud music, unsafe driving, and uncouth behaviour. Seriously, we really need unaccustomed strong leadership for the Ministry of Transport. Dr. Duguid, probably a nice and otherwise capable man, is not the right fit for this role, and I’ve observed it before.
They trying to prime up and start to make the boys look pretty and smell good for ” WE GATHERIN” BARBADOS 2020″.
JOHNNY CROW : Grandma’s words: “Yah could tek a monkey out the woods, but yah can’t tek the woods out the monkey”
International words : You can take the boy out of the jungle but you can’t take the jungle out of the boy.
The way in which people are responding it seems to me that these PSV people are out of the jungles.
IF ! ! I do visit Barbados for WE GATHERIN” BARBADOS 2020″ I hope by then the jungle boys will have adopted a brand new attitude.
ALAN WINTER :
Sound byte 1 :Some of the PSVs do as they like bcos as Ossie Moore said some owners are politicians and high-ups….
Sound byte 2 : How can you get a group to abide by rules when some of the rule-breakers are the rule-makers themselves.
Ossie Moore : Exactly , 95% of the PSV’s are owned by politicians , taxi drivers , big ups ( as bajans usually say ) and even by some employees of the Transport Board.
So asking the PSV owners to clean up their act is like asking to Police to Police and investigate themselves.
Right-on JOHN; also with a bottle of deodorant and their heels must be covered, no more slippers.
But Transport Authority is tryiny to instilll some comon sence in the children who we call adults
They do sll kinds of things that are wrong
Enforcement Enforcement…saw a ZR this afternoon on Spring Garden highway drive across the medium in the middle by Courts to go back to Rianna Drive so he could avoid police further down the highway dealing with bumper accident. They just don’t care and the owners and drivers need to face the court together for the same charge!
The facts are there for all to read and each comment above simply confirms what we all know. New shirts and new pants will change nothing! Start by charging the dam owners along with the drivers for each offense. Forget carrying them to court and introduce a ticketing system that must be paid in 48 hours at any police station. Failure to do this will result in the vehicle being towed and impounded. Of course if the said ZR drivers want to challenge the charge after paying the ticket and fees to clear the vehicle, they are free to do so and use the same court system to wait their turn to have their case heard. Stop playing with this problem and deal with them where they will feel it, in their pocket!
Look, years ago back in the mid 60’s / 70’s there was a Guyanese Magistrate in Barbados by the name of Magistrate Perry . . . who did not like Bajans at all , especially you know what race.
That being said . Magistrate Perry imposed the highest of fines on bajans for crimes committed and he was extremely harsh on motorists and cyclists who broke the law.
Traffic crimes in Barbados were the lowest in the Caribbean during Magistrate Perry’s watch and Barbados was the best and safest Island in which to be a motorist and cyclist.
But as far as I can tell from the comments that I am seeing now , it seems as though buhbados is at the top of the totem pole where traffic lawlessness in concerned.
John ! you are talking about traffic rules in a ” real world ” country, BUT hey man . . . don’t forget it’s buhbados _ BIM that you’d like to see a change of traffic laws.
Ossie i guess you right on that but i am the eternal optimist. The current traffic court is a waste of time and they know that, so why not enact a harsh ticketing system that must be paid within 48 hrs and let them go to the same court system they abuse and argue a case to have the fine reversed and money refunded? Time to take the delays in our court system that they take advantage of and let them get a feel for it when its not working in their favour anymore.
I’m with you John ! There are quite a lot of changes that need to be made in Barbados in order to MBGA ( Make Barbados Great again ) , the Barbados is was ( The GEM of the Caribbean) when I spent some time on that Island years ago.