CrimeLocal NewsNews Peter’s family reeling from tragic death by Barbados Today 16/06/2019 written by Barbados Today Updated by Fernella Wedderburn 16/06/2019 2 min read A+A- Reset Shooting victim 28-year-old Emilien Peter Share FacebookTwitterLinkedinWhatsappEmail 691 Emilien Peter’s family is reeling from his tragic death. “We are trying to compose ourselves as best as possible,” his father, Peter Peter, told the media earlier today. Shooting victim 28-year-old Emilien Peter The 28-year-old of Meadowville Heights, Prior Park, St James was recorded as the island’s 30th homicide for the year. Police say a number of people were liming and playing dominoes under a streetlight at Well Gap, Cave Hill, St Michael, when they heard a loud explosion. They ran, and on returning discovered Peters’ motionless body in a pool of blood. He was pronounced dead at the scene. The deceased was the only son and the youngest of his father’s four children. Peter said he got the call about the incident around 1 a.m. Sunday, June 16 and went to the scene where he identified his son’s body. Grieving father Peter Peter The grieving father stated that he last saw his son who he described as a “quiet person” on Saturday morning around eleven o’clock just before he headed to work for his midday shift. The deceased was a University of West Indies science and electronics graduate, employed with the Barbados Meteorological Services. You Might Be Interested In Crystal Beckles-Holder, 2nd runner up in regional competition GUYANA: Body of child found after gold mine collapses Barbadians asked to help with return tickets for Haitians “I would hope they [the police] can find some way to bring that under control, particularly all of the gun activity. I hope the authorities can find some measures to bring some resolution to all the gun play that we are having,” he said. Police have issued an appeal to anyone with information about this latest murder to contact Police Emergency 211, Crime Stoppers at 1-800-TIPS (8477) or the nearest police station. katrinaking@barbadostoday.bb Barbados Today Stay informed and engaged with our digital news platform. The leading online multimedia news resource in Barbados for news you can trust. You may also like 43-year-old woman dies in St Peter collision 14/01/2025 Police target ‘big fish’ in organised crime crackdown 14/01/2025 High-surf advisory remains in effect for Barbados 14/01/2025