Home » Posts » #BajanVibes – Small island music on ‘Large Radio’ . . . General reps 246 in soca showcase

#BajanVibes – Small island music on ‘Large Radio’ . . . General reps 246 in soca showcase

4 min read

Yes, there were two artistes representing two different countries, but it was not a Verzus battle, dropping tune for tune, to determine who was the better of the two.

Instead, it was a friendly session aimed at promoting Caribbean soca music. It was themed: Small Island Musical Showcase.

Host Stanman of Large Radio, along with DJ Choice One MD, held the virtual event Friday night and attracted thousands of viewers throughout the Caribbean and in the diaspora.

The featured artistes were Bajan sensation Edwin The General Yearwood of Krosfyah and Antiguan Claudette Peters, lead singer Taxik Band.

The night started out with host Stanman asking Edwin about Barbados’ national dish, to which the entertainer replied: “We have no fish, so our dish now is macaroni pie and chicken. The soca General told him how to prepare the meal.

The next topic was national dress. Eventually, after the technical problems abated, Claudette joined the event with both audio and video working.

When contacted, Edwin told Bajan Vibes that the station and the live show are needed to push and promote Caribbean music as well as bring the islands together.

“It was awesome for me. I had a lot of fun; there were a lot of vibes. There are a lot of fans, not just Barbadian fans, Caribbean fans, international fans that go through that particular radio station and make it good vibes.

He added: “We need this type of forum. People from Barbados and other countries can be educated and bring people closer together. There are still a lot of people from Caribbean islands who have never been to Barbados, that have never been to other countries that are locked on, logged on. I try to spread as much news and good vibes about Barbados. It’s about everybody sharing each other’s culture and learning from each other.”

The entertainer said it is always heartening when people reacted to the hit songs made decades ago. “It is always amazing for these people to be dropping tunes to show so much love and respect. It is amazing for the tunes to still have that level of vibes that they had almost when they first dropped. I love it. I really appreciate what has been happening for me.”

Of his mate for the night he said: “Claudette and I go way back. We respect each other’s talent. I have worked with her band before; she has worked with krosfyah. Over the years, we would have crossed each other’s paths performing in different countries. We get along well. She is a fantastic person. She is a cultural ambassador for Antigua, and I hope she continues to do well.”

The live was tune for tune from both singers’ extensive repertoire of music. The island’s former Party Monarch, Sweet Soca King, Calypso Monarch and Tune of the Crop winner started off with French Kiss. General also dropped: Sake Passe, Pump Me Up, Dushi, Krank It, Road Jam, No Behaviour, Sweatin’, Wet Me and Oil Pumping.

Claudette’s hit list included: All I Know, Out Deh, Still Jamming, For Carnival, When Last, No Tomorrow, Don’t Mess Wid Me, First Time, Nasty and Something Got A Hold On Me.

At the end of the live, which was broadcast on both Facebook and Instagram, the two artistes exchanged pleasantries and thanked the radio station.

Claudette said: “I’ve been a fan for so many years. I’ve been a fan and I know all of your music. This is not a competition. This is a contribution, especially when we are going through this crazy, crazy pandemic. It is a pleasure to be entertaining all of our island people. They need to hear from us, they need us to encourage them. Big up Large Radio for doing something like this and big up to the Caribbean. Stay safe.”

Edwin then said: “I am so proud of you, knowing you all of these years and how you continually carry that Antiguan flag. It is so much respect coming from the heart to you. Love you, Claudette, love you bad.”(IMC)