Home » Posts » Accused denies charges

Accused denies charges

2 min read

A 43-year-old man declared today that he does not know where police found the cocaine apparatus that he was charged for.

Henderson Sylvester Burgess of no fixed place of abode, made the comment when he appeared before Magistrate Elwood Watts this afternoon.

The accused is alleged to have had the apparatus in his possession on March 19 for use in connection with the misuse of the illegal drugs.

“Not guilty. I had the apparatus but not the one that was found. I had already dispose of it. I don’t know where the other one come from,” Burgess said.

He also pleaded not guilty to the June 27, 2020 charge that he damaged a vehicle belonging to Theodore Thorpe.

The charges that he assaulted and resisted police constable Jarad Headley as he executed his duties on January 4, 2020 as well as assaulting him causing him actual bodily harm were then read by the magistrate.

When asked whether he was guilty or not Burgess replied, “That matter sound real bad. Sir I ain’t guilty about nothing so yuh.”

However the prosecutor Sergeant St Clair Philips said Burgess still had a hurdle to cross as he had no fixed place of abode.

“My home is still acceptable onto me sir,” he stated adding that he lived at Eastpoint, St Philip. “That’s my family home but I have no family to sign bail for me at the moment.”

Burgess was remanded until April 19 to reappear before the District ‘C’ Magistrates’ Court. He was been warned to get a surety for that date.