Home » Posts » Senator says situation in A&E “worse than before” upgrades

Senator says situation in A&E “worse than before” upgrades

3 min read

An Independent Senator who works at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) claims there has been little to no improvement in patient care at the Accident & Emergency (A&E) Department since the multi-million-dollar upgrade.
In fact, ENT specialist Dr Christopher Maynard said that far from getting better with the $11 million expansion, the situation appears to be worse for some patients seeking assistance there.
“The A&E was supposed to have been expanded and the project was supposed to be finished and the people of this country were supposed to be treated in a better facility and more efficiently. One can’t question whether it is a better facility, but it’s certainly not more efficient. Some would argue it is worse,” he charged in the Upper Chamber on Wednesday as the debate on the Appropriations Bill, 2023 continued.
Senator Maynard noted that with an additional $5.2 million to be spent to complete the refurbishment, improving how the department functions is important because without that, “you would have created a larger, spacious, more comfortable A&E for people to wait in for longer times and have worse outcomes”.
“The budget given for the A&E department by the then Minister has now been increased by 50 per cent, give or take a couple of hundred thousand. It is amazing that you’ve had to increase the budget for a project by 50 per cent in a tertiary care institution, and you still can’t deliver. Something’s really wrong…. Things are worse than they were before. We need change and we have to fix it,” he contended.
Dr Maynard also questioned whether there had been a “real facts and figures” assessment of outcomes in several departments that had been assigned additional funds.
In that regard, the doctor queried “whether the waiting lists are generally getting shorter and whether productivity is genuinely increasing”.
He took issue with the claim made by Senator Dr Crystal Haynes, during the debate on Tuesday, that the backlog of cataract surgeries had been cleared.
“I challenge that because every week, I get calls from people who dropped off the waiting list. So you can say you have cleared the list of the people who are listed but there are a large number of persons in this country who are almost blind because they have cataracts, and while they may have gone for surgeries during COVID, they have dropped off the map and they haven’t been coming because they are terrified and for various reasons they didn’t come, so don’t be lulled into a sense of security that you have fixed the problem,” Dr Maynard said.
He acknowledged, however, that there was no “easy fix” to the situation at the QEH and stressed that “leadership is important”.
“If you have 2 000-plus people under one roof and do not have the right leadership, you have problems and the people who you treat will have worse problems. So, I call on those in charge to stop the experiment and make a change and fix it. It requires some hard, harsh decisions. It requires that workers of all sorts – lowest paid workers and the highest paid workers – have to improve their productivity, not just turn up to work, and they have to be assessed without fear,” the Independent Senator said.
(JB)