Local News Fire destroys Bank Hall home, damages another by Shamar Blunt 09/04/2024 written by Shamar Blunt Updated by Sasha Mehter 09/04/2024 1 min read A+A- Reset All that is left of the 1st Avenue, Sealy Land, Bank Hall, St Michael house after fire struck on Sunday night. (SB) Share FacebookTwitterLinkedinWhatsappEmail 1.3K One homeowner is thankful no lives were lost as fire destroyed his neighbour’s home and scorched his own on Sunday night at First Avenue Sealy Land, Bank Hall. When a Barbados TODAY reporter visited the scene on Monday, little remained of the original home which neighbours said housed two people. Dean Linton, whose home received damage but remained mostly intact, said he was nearby when he became aware of the blaze around 8 p.m. “I went down to the bottom of Prescod Bottom and shout some friends, so while talking one of my friends tell me ‘Wait, that’s smoke?’ and I look up and see this big thick smoke. My first instinct was to just run and get up here because I live up this gap. When I get here now, I saw my next-door neighbour house ‘pon bare flames,” he said. Linton said he tried to protect his own home, after opening the door to find it hot inside. “I gone into the yard for the hose and started to wet all kind of things around me. But I panicking, I don’t know what is happening, I am no fireman but I am trying my best,” he recalled. You Might Be Interested In Crystal Beckles-Holder, 2nd runner up in regional competition GUYANA: Body of child found after gold mine collapses Barbadians asked to help with return tickets for Haitians Linton praised the community for coming to his aid: “People came and helped take out some of the things, came and bring another hose. Only thing was that the glass [windows] began to break so I had to find myself down in the back, but I still continued to do what I had to do.” “I give thanks and praises nobody ain’t get kill, nobody ain’t dead,” he said. (SB) Shamar Blunt You may also like Fears allayed after Tichbourne housing pipe leak 09/03/2025 Nail-biting matchup Sunday in BABA Presidents’ Cup 09/03/2025 South African trailblazer delivers inspiring message at Egi summit 09/03/2025