Home » Posts » Storm Watch

Storm Watch

by Emmanuel Joseph
5 min read

Barbadians were on Friday evening preparing for the arrival of Tropical Storm Beryl and possibly a category one hurricane to hit the island by Monday morning.
“I have now been advised that we are more than likely going to be facing a storm, and possibly even a hurricane category one within the next 48 hours,” Prime Minister Mia Mottley told a national broadcast late Friday.
She said that earlier in the day, she met with a range of government agencies to ensure the country was prepared as best it could for any eventuality.
“We know we are going to face some [bad] weather, and you and I know that when these things happen, it is better to plan for the worse and pray for the best. In those circumstances, what are we doing? Earlier today, MTW [Ministry of Transport and Works] was asked to be able to look at all of the areas of potential flooding that we know usually occur, and they would have started that from early this afternoon and continue right through tomorrow and Sunday,” the prime minister disclosed.
“We are advised that the system is unlikely to hit us before early Monday morning and therefore we have these two days to fully prepare. We also would have spoken to the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) and the Ministry of Health and they have advised that there will be PSAs [public service announcements] out, advising persons to stock up on their medication,” the government leader told the country.
Earlier on Friday, the QEH issued a statement advising patients who have prescriptions due within a week to get them refilled as soon as possible. It announced extended opening hours for its pharmacy – from 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Saturday, and 8:30 p.m. to 2 p.m. on Sunday.
Prime Minister Mottley further urged those who need to leave home to stay with family or in a shelter to walk with their medication and their vital identification documents or any other “precious” things.
She also announced that discussions have been held with key tourism stakeholders so that visitors who are here for the ICC Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup final on Saturday morning can be placed in a position to ensure their personal safety.
“While it [weather] is not expected to affect tomorrow’s events, we do believe that we have a duty to ensure that all who are here are also in a position to prepare themselves for any eventuality. We therefore had the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association (BHTA) as well as the Ministry of Tourism with us today,” Mottley said, adding that the discussions included the Ministry of Education which is responsible for the hurricane shelters.
There are about 34 category one shelters and Mottley urged residents who may need that refuge to make their way there.
Giving the assurance that all government agencies have been continuing to put measures in place to mitigate against the impact of the pending system, the prime minister announced that the Barbados Water Authority (BWA) had generators in every area. Additionally, she said, instructions had been given to the BWA to fill up the tanks as much as necessary over the weekend.
Mottley also cautioned that the pending weekend storm may be followed closely thereafter by more bad weather next week, as she advised residents to be vigilant.
“The inundation of water coming after what happens on Monday is likely to cause problems. So, let us apply our hearts to wisdom, let us do what we know we need to do,” she urged, further appealing to Barbadians to follow developments only from credible media sources and government-related agencies and websites.
Mottley said Minister of Home Affairs Wilfred Abrahams will address the country Saturday morning while she will do so in the afternoon.
The prime minister also made a special appeal to young people in particular to look out for elderly and vulnerable people in their communities at this time.
“You know the Bajan way, and the Bajan way is that we will be our brothers’ and sisters’ keeper…we look out for each other; and I want you to make it your duty as young people…I want you to go back out and help make sure that we are there for them…. Don’t disappoint me, I beg yuh,” she urged.
Earlier on Friday, the Barbados Meteorological Service (BMS) placed the country on notice to listen out for a storm watch to be possibly issued Saturday morning. The weather officials warned that the system, which was a tropical depression during the day, could be upgraded to a tropical storm by Saturday and accompanied by flash flooding and storm-force winds.
However, by late Friday, it issued a bulletin indicating that the depression had already become Tropical Storm Beryl about 1 100 miles east-southeast of the island and a hurricane watch could be issued as early as Saturday morning.
“The system became better organised over the past few hours and has been upgraded to a tropical storm at 11 p.m. Beryl is currently moving westward at 18mph (30km/h) with maximum sustained winds of 40 mph (65km/h),” it said, adding that it was projected the centre of the storm would pass just south of Barbados early Monday.
“Although there remains uncertainty regarding the intensity of the system in the coming days, some model guidance suggests that this system could develop into a hurricane before reaching Barbados,” it added.
Additionally, a small craft and high surf warning are in effect for above-normal sea swells.

emmanueljoseph@barbadostoday.bb

• Beryl likely to become hurricane as it passes Monday
  • Government activating emergency measures, including shelters and flood assessments
  • PM urges community support, especially for vulnerable residents
  • Further bad weather expected next week