Home » Posts » Chandler remanded on burglary charge

Chandler remanded on burglary charge

by Fernella Wedderburn
2 min read
Bruce Wayne David Chandler

A City entertainer with “talent and potential” is facing a burglary charge, for which he has been remanded to prison for the next 28 days.

Bruce Wayne David Chandler, 39, from Combermere Street appeared before Chief Magistrate Ian Weekes on Wednesday accused of trespassing on Stall D-01 between June 30 and July 1 and stealing a speaker, two drills, 13 bottles of whiskey, three bottles of vodka, two bottles of tonic and two bottles of brandy — a total approximate value of $3 229 belonging to Camille Holder.

Sergeant Randolph Boyce in objecting to bail said among other things: “We don’t think the accused is a fit candidate for bail.” The prosecutor added that Chandler had been given a chance to attend Verdun House and he walked out of the programme. The accused, he said, also had 21 previous convictions with the last recorded in September 2023.

In his bail application, Chandler stated that the charge before the court was an allegation.

“I didn’t go into anybody’s place. I doing pretty good. I got a job,” he stated. “Sir, I went and look for my son and a police saw me coming from by my son and just pull up ‘pon me and charged me for trespassing for my own child, Sir. That is what I was in jail for. Yesterday I came home, I get released and as I stepped through the gate I get charged for this, Sir.”

The chief magistrate pointed out that “the prosecution challenges that having been given a chance by this court you didn’t come back”.

Chandler replied: “I was scared, Sir.”

The accused added: “Sir, this is an allegation, please give me a chance.”

But the chief magistrate again pointed out that in the last three cases that Chandler had before the court he was given “chances” with six-month sentences suspended for 12 months.

Within that time, he has found himself before the court on a new allegation, the magistrate said.

“Maybe you need to sit and reflect on what is happening,” Weekes told Chandler before remanding him to Dodds until September 25. “Again I say, Mr Chandler has so much talent and potential which we hope to realise again.”