Home » Posts » Youth, parents to benefit from new programmes

Youth, parents to benefit from new programmes

3 min read

The National Peace Programme (NPP) last weekend rolled out what it said are two life-changing initiatives – one to empower vulnerable youth and the other to help parents strengthen their parenting skills.

Elevate the Peace and the Parent-Wise Community Project were launched on Saturday at Sandals Royal where Minister of State in the Office of the Attorney General with responsibility for Crime Prevention, Corey Lane emphasised the valuable role they will play in assisting the targeted groups.

The Parent-Wise Community Project will provide parental sessions in several selected communities across the island for approximately one year.

Lane said it was extremely important to have this programme guided by organisations that work with parents. The sessions will be facilitated by Men’s Empowerment Network, Ammar Empowerment Network, the Barbados Association for Professional Social Workers, the Caribbean Institute for Social and Emotional Learning, and Parent Education for Development in Barbados (PAREDOS)

“I was determined that as we execute this policy, that we are not reinventing the wheel…, but [that we would] go to you who are teaching about parenting well, and ensure we can use the resources of the State…to allow you to scale up the number of parents that you are already working with… to ensure every parent has the opportunity to be a better parent in this country,” he said.

Lane indicated that multiple delivery methods would be available, including podcasts, social media, face-to-face, videos, and online presentations.

Elevate the Peace will include two main initiatives – community pop-ups and direct intervention clubs, which are aimed at strengthening communities. The direct intervention clubs will give young people an opportunity to participate in training programmes in areas of choice, including barbering, swimming, photography, bartending, and tailoring.

Lane explained: “These clubs are not only about preventing crime; they are about preventing criminals because these direct intervention clubs are really taking a lot of unattached youths, youth who are not in any structured programme whatsoever, and giving them good mentorship, activities and, most importantly, positive alternatives to block liming and a life of crime.

“The Elevate the Peace will be launched across the 11 parishes in Barbados, 22 communities to start…. We are targeting the most at-risk, the most vulnerable communities, but we are also giving all other communities an opportunity to be a part of the programme.”

Director of East to West Enterprises, Timothy McClean, added that 15 clubs would be created, including a remedial programme – Bright Stars – for children between the ages of seven and 11 who have difficulties writing and reading. He explained that they will receive remedial classes in Mathematics and English from three specially trained teachers.

McClean noted that the objective of the community pop-ups is to bring back the community spirit through fun activities, such as dominoes, small bars football, and netball. The first community pop-up is scheduled for May 25.

“We believe that this method…of engaging directly with the clubs, getting those young people into…an activity, and then going back to the community to build that fellowship, that community spirit is one way in which we can help to elevate the peace in Barbados,” he said.