Home » Posts » Lane: Unified approach needed to stem crime

Lane: Unified approach needed to stem crime

by Ryan Gilkes
3 min read

Minister of State in the Office of the Attorney General, Corey Lane, has called for a collective and proactive approach to stem the tide of violence.

Addressing the media on the sidelines of a National Peace Programme Elevate the Peace Community pop-up at the Wotton Hard Court in Christ Church on Saturday, he expressed deep concern over the recent spate of killings, emphasising the need for a unified response from all sectors of society. 

The number of homicides so far for 2024 stands at 18, with the latest occurring just after 11:21 p.m. on Friday, claiming the life of 17-year-old Rock Hall, St Philip, resident Dashawn Hinkson. 

According to reports, Hinkson, a joinery student with the Skill Training Programme, had been liming with some friends not far from his home when three men approached them and opened fire. Lawmen say that in the melee, Hinkson was struck while attempting to flee, later collapsing and dying inside a neighbour’s house, where he had run to seek shelter.

On Wednesday night, just around 11:45, 20-year-old Seth Batson of Layne’s Road, Brittons Hill, St Michael, was gunned down. His body was found in a pasture at Belleplaine, St Andrew, and the Barbados Police Service issued an appeal for anyone with information to come forward.

Reflecting on the situation, Lane stated, “I am as concerned as when you asked me [about] the last two homicides, and I will continue to be concerned with every single homicide.” He pointed out that while Barbados had experienced about 16 months of relative calm, the past two weeks had seen a sharp and worrying spike in violent incidents.

The minister further stressed that extensive efforts were being undertaken by various stakeholders to address the surge in violence.

“All the partners and stakeholders in crime prevention, which include the police, the Office of the Attorney General, crime prevention, [and] a number of other stakeholders, are not only just meeting but strategizing and trying to find out what exactly has happened,” he said.

Although constrained by the confidentiality requirements of national security, Minister Lane assured the public that the authorities are fully engaged and working diligently to address the issue. 

“I have been briefed and have an understanding of what’s happening. However, there are limitations on what can be shared publicly. I can assure everyone, though, that we are on the job. We are not falling asleep behind the wheel. Despite the long hours and the fatigue, our commitment to ensuring the safety of our citizens is unwavering,” he said.

Lane, however, highlighted the critical role of community participation in combating crime and promoting safety. 

“I’ve been to a number of events and activities today, and one of the things I recognise is that there are more positive, law-abiding people by far in Barbados,” he observed. “So my call is really for those who want to be part of the solution to continue doing what they’re doing and reach out where they need help to scale up where they’re doing positive because that’s how we are going to help reduce, combat, fight, prevent crime, and make sure that we have a positive and peaceful society in Barbados.” (RG)