Home » Posts » Spice drops introspective third studio album, ‘Mirror 25’

Spice drops introspective third studio album, ‘Mirror 25’

Published: Updated: 4 min read

July 22, 2024 (Kingston, Jamaica) – Grammy® Award-Nominated, chart-topping, global superstar Spice, is set to drop her highly anticipated third studio album, ‘Mirror 25’ Friday, August 9, 2024 via Spice Official Entertainment with distribution through Empire. The internationally acclaimed “Queen of the Dancehall” will also honour those individuals integral to her 25-year global evolution.

The twenty-five-track album ‘Mirror 25’ is Spice’s legendary sound infused with a kaleidoscope of rhythmic energies, embracing a melting pot of genres. The project whilst reinforcing the powerhouse performer’s signature influence in Dancehall, also cements her as one Jamaica’s most versatile and creative artists of the time.

Spice’s raw, open diary of her past trials and tribulations, growing pains and lessons learned as an artist and as a woman – is this riveting body of work. The album title, ‘Mirror 25’ symbolizes reflection and self-discovery.

Spice says “Creating my album ‘Mirror 25’ was intentionally done to celebrate 25 incredible years in music. It has been a truly exhilarating journey, and this album showcases my versatility as well as my passion for Dancehall. I’m beyond excited to share these 25 songs with the world because I’m sure each song will be relatable to each of my Besties. The diversity within my fanbase has pushed me to experiment with a lot of new sounds while staying true to my authentic dancehall roots. This album is a true reflection of my heart in its purest form, and is a celebration of my history in Dancehall. 25 years is not a small thing, it’s a very big thing.”

Tracks already out from the ‘Mirror 25’ album are her first controversial single, ‘2085 Tea’ followed by her lead single, ‘Round Round,’ featuring 12-time Grammy® Award-Nominated Rapper, Busta Rhymes; an infectious party anthem.

Both singles have reached #1 on iTunes Reggae charts.

ABOUT SPICE
Jamaican dancehall recording artist, singer, and songwriter Grace Latoya Hamilton, known professionally as Spice, is recognized as one of the most prominent dancehall artists in the world.

Her one-of-a-kind persona represented by her flamboyant hair and powerhouse stage performances has been globally impact-shifting for the Reggae/Dancehall genre. The iconic artist from Portmore, is influential in her messages of sexual liberation and empowerment.

Spice has collectively streamed over 433 million times on YouTube and over 400 million times on Spotify, making her one of the most streamed female artists in her genre. She has collaborated with musical giants such as Shaggy, Sean Paul, Missy Elliot, Nicki Minaj, Vybz Kartel, Kid Ink, Jeremiah, Busta Rhymes, I-Octane, Lady Leeshur, Sean Kingston, A$AP Ferg, Mya, Charly Blacks, Neyo, Stylo G, and more. She’s appeared on Good Morning America, Jimmy Kimmel Live, The Tamron Hall Show and Good Morning Britain showcasing her talent and classics throughout a 25-year span.

Spice’s highly celebrated album, ‘10,’ surpassed over 300 million streams on Spotify, and landed her first GRAMMY nomination for Best Reggae Album in 2022. The impact of the album, influenced by her breakout hit single, ‘Go Down Deh’ featuring Shaggy and Sean Paul, leveraged Spice to conquer an even larger and diverse fanbase, to receive global acclaim.

Beginning her career in the early 2000s, Spice had her first major success in 2009 with Romping Shop /Vybz Kartel and subsequently signed with VP Records, releasing her debut EP, So Mi Like It (2014), which was preceded by the single of the same name. In 2018, Spice joined the cast of VH1’s reality television series Love & Hip Hop: Atlanta in season seven, after appearing as a guest star in season six. Spice’s first full-length project, a mixtape titled Captured (2018), debuted at number one on the Billboard Reggae Albums chart. It was preceded by the single “Black Hypocrisy”, which addresses the issue of colorism in the black community. Spice released her debut studio album, “Ten” (2021) and sophomore album “Emancipated” in (2022).

Two years later, Jamaica’s premier urban music female artist continues to make history as she drops MIRROR 25. GET READY BESTIES!! (PR)