Home » Posts » BACA: Support fresh faces in Pic-O-De-Crop lineup

BACA: Support fresh faces in Pic-O-De-Crop lineup

by Shamar Blunt
3 min read

The announcement of finalists for this year’s Pic-O-De-Crop calypso contest has ignited a mix of criticism and anticipation amongst Barbadians, with the absence of several crowd favourites prompting intense debate.

But appealing to calypso-lovers to embrace the new talent on display, Sean Apache Carter, president of the Barbados Association of Creatives and Artistes (BACA), has thrown his weight behind the judges’ selections.

Carter acknowledged the public’s disappointment at the omission of certain perennial finalists but emphasised the strength of this year’s field.

“There are some names that have become perennial finalists like TC, Blood, Classic, Donella etc.,” he told Barbados TODAY. “The funny thing about judging is that some people make their picks based on the radio and what they see on YouTube, but they actually have to be there on the judging night to see what is done on the judging night. I think this year in particular it was an extremely tight competition.”

The BACA leader highlighted the success of the All Stars Tent, managed by Eleanor Rice, which secured an unprecedented nine spots in the finals. He also praised the inclusion of several first-time finalists, particularly those who had previously competed in junior competitions.

“Grateful Co, this is his first attempt at Pic-O-De-Crop and he has gone all the way to the finals. It’s good to see him back in social commentary,” Carter remarked. “Then I would say an extraordinary mention must go to Tae and Trinity. Tae as you know came out of Junior Monarch last year, she won both the calypso category and the soca category, and she has transitioned into the Pic-O-De-Crop and she has gone straight to the finals on her first attempt.”

Carter drew attention to the groundbreaking achievement of Trinity Clarke, who has secured a place in both the Junior Monarch finals and the senior Pic-O-De-Crop competition.

“She has joined the likes of Sammy G, Quon, and Aziza who transitioned from the Junior Monarch and came into the seniors and went all the way to the finals,” he said.

The BACA president credited the National Cultural Foundation’s writing workshops in schools for nurturing young talent, pointing to the success of Tae and Trinity as evidence of the programme’s impact.

“I must make reference to these two young ladies again, Tae and Trinity, the songs they have gone to finals with are both self-penned songs,” Carter said. “You would find some of the well-known artistes would have writers, but you have two juniors that have just transitioned into Pic-O-De-Crop and they have both written their songs.

“For me, that’s a tremendous accomplishment. You have self-penned songs, you’ve now transitioned into the senior competition and you’ve made it all the way to the finals. It means that something at the junior level is definitely being done right. I believe the writing workshops have definitely taken off and you’re seeing the fruits of it now.”

Looking ahead to the finals a week from Friday, Carter urged contestants to bring their best performances, noting the formidable challenge posed by defending champion Ian iWeb Webster.

“The preliminary rounds are fairly competitive, so I know that the finals will be competitive as well,” he said. “What I will say to the other calypsonians firstly is, ‘yuh gotta bring it’ because Ian Webster is no walkover. He has the ability to be able to step it up a number of notches on finals night, he is a fantastic performer, he understands what the judges are looking for, he understands impact.”

Carter sounded a note of encouragement for the finalists and anticipation for the audience: “I’m just encouraging all the other finalists to bring it and I know the public will be in store for a fantastic night of calypso competition.”

shamarblunt@barbadostoday.bb