Home » Posts » Uncle Joe’s Nothing but Vibes!

Uncle Joe’s Nothing but Vibes!

by LuovaSupport
4 min read

Picture this….

All the charm of a local rum shop- rusty galvanize, a Banks Beer door, all with a bit of a twist, giving a fresh vibe- a place where you’re just as likely to see surfers, or tourists and everyone in between, and you have Uncle Joe’s Seaside Bar and Grill, nestled in the heart of Bathsheba, St. Joseph.

Here you can easily find people from all walks of life swapping stories and just liming together in a laid-back atmosphere, sipping on cocktails or enjoying rum sold by the flask just as you would find in any Bajan rum shop.

Located on the rugged East Coast of the island, this eatery has been in the Goodman family for decades. It was recently rebranded and is currently managed by cousins Renata and Scott Goodman.

As the story goes, Uncle Joe’s originated as typical rum shop back in the 1970s, it then evolved into a seaside bar and grill and was leased to others outside of the family, then in 2018, Scott’s Dad offered him the opportunity to put his stamp on the establishment and he and Renata jumped at the chance to do just that, they changed the look and in February, a new version of Uncle Joe’s opened its doors.

In a nod to Bathsheba, a surfboard displaying some of the menu items greets patrons as they enter – a fitting prop as the Atlantic roars across the street, offering lovely views of the unspoiled scenery. A mural depicting the history of the fishing village of Bathsheba as well as other aspects of Bajan life decorates the outer base of the bar, with each pane telling a story, describing local history as a whole, while adding to the décor of the place.

A great stop for tourists and locals when touring the island, or as the destination for a Saturday afternoon lime with friends, Uncle Joe’s menu includes typical rum shop favourites such as fish cakes, bread and 2 or a variety of cutters.

For those wanting something a bit more filling, its platters feature a surf or turf protein; a starch and two salads or traditional Bajan dishes and other items – including pepperpot.

Saturday afternoons are reserved for one of Barbados’ favourite pastimes, Karaoke; Sundays are Jukebox Sundays where patrons determine the music that is played while Fridays are Pickled Fridays, which is just as it sounds, pickled steppers, shrimp and of course souse. The bar is also open on Thursdays. Hours for Thursday to Saturday are noon until, while Sunday’s action starts at 11 a.m.

The friendly staff make great customer service their business, which adds to the overall experience.  It’s clear they are following the lead of Manager Cherie-Ann Hurley, who was happy to come out to chat with us, ensuring that when we left, we definitely wanted to return.

So if you’re up for a charming bar in the country or you are doing an island tour and want a lunch or liming stop, or if you just want to enjoy food, friends and fun in unspoiled territory, take a trek out to Uncle Joe’s, you won’t be disappointed.