Home » Posts » Reggae Festival closes with irie beach party

Reggae Festival closes with irie beach party

3 min read

Barbados Reggae Festival 2023 climaxed on Monday night with a high energy performance by dancehall star Mad Cobra. Appearing last on the card of the Reggae Beach Party, the Jamaican artiste was fully engaged with the large audience as he delivered a fiery performance which ensured the series of events ended on a high. 

The performer easily took the show to another level, and it was pure vibes. The veteran entertainer started hyped and ended with the same intensity. Mad Cobra had the crowd in the palm of his hands, whipping them into a frenzy, as he confidently proved why he is still around after decades in the industry. His sing along session included mega hits like Press Trigger and he tantalized the crowd when he teased with his Billboard chart topping Flex. 

Kittian Byron Messia was part of the cast.

Commanding the audience’s attention was the group TOK. Though they were one member short, the trio were solid. Among the tracks they sang were Gal Yuh A Lead, Toppa Toppa, Eagles Cry and they finished with the immensely popular Footprints. Also representing for the Jamaicans was Louie Culture. 

Minister Kirk Humphrey with headline act Mad Cobra.

Though billed as Bad like 90s Dancehall, a young contingent of rising stars was presented to the satisfaction of their fans. Kittian dancehall artiste Byron Messia dropped his well-known Talibans. Though not all his material was familiar, that did not detract from the vibe he created with the audience. DJ Sossa delivered vocally, but his stint on stage was too short. Performing for the first time in Barbados, Laa Lee, who is known for his dance moves, enlisted local dancer Casper to show off the Bird. 

Mad Cobra had his fans begging for more.

Lead Pipe and Saddis made appearances earlier in the evening. Chiief Diin session featured other local acts, Idea and Weather. British artiste Suspect OTB added some international flavor. A solid deejay line up kept the audience partying throughout the event. Infamous the Voice and Jordan English were the emcees for the night. Skeng, who was a surprise act for Reggae on the Hill, was in attendance and caused a stir when he went into the audience. 

Reggae on the Beach attracted a large crowd.

Despite the challenges in sourcing sponsorship, Alison Hunte, Director of FAS 7 Star, considers the series of events a success and is simply happy to be back. She told the media, “I think the crowd had a wonderful time. I think it was a hard come back you know after four years, but I think we delivered. I think the people came out and supported and look forward to next year.”

Hunte assured that the next festival would be even better. Audiences can look forward to “More greatness, bigger events, more talent.” 

She believes they provide a platform for both local and international acts and is pleased with the feedback that they have received. “We always have great artists, great talent, great deejays. I think it’s been an overall joy,” she said.

(STT)  ]]>